TGIF

If I thought last week was a blur this week went by much faster.   But last week was much more fun.   For those of you who haven’t heard by now six of us (Anita, Emily, Karen, Marjie, Terri and I) drove to St. Louis for a big yarn shop crawl and some relaxation.

We all met at the airport (Park and Ride is great!) where we loaded a van we rented for the trip.   We put restrictions on ourselves that we would only bring one suitcase, one knitting bag and a snack for the road.   I thought it was a great idea but as it turns out we still packed that van pretty full and that was GOING.

Our first stop was The Red Onion in Joplin.   Let me tell you now that the food is good and the desserts are fantastic.   Leave room for dessert, you won’t regret it.   Across the street happens to be The Needle Niche, a lys.   It is a smallish shop that full of nice yarn such as Rowan, Nashua and such.   The lady working that day was fun to talk to and was working on a gorgeous shrug from one of the Rowan books.   There were many examples of intarsia projects and she promised if you can knit with both hands you can do intarsia.   lol   I love the intarsia look but I HATE doing it.   Oh well…..some of those projects haunt me in a good way so I may have to give it a try again.

Our second stop was Simply Fibers in Springfield on Campbell.   Marjie and I stopped there in August so this was our second visit.   Carol, the owner, was there and so were two groups of ladies knitting.   The store was pretty full of people but also full of yarn!   She carries Noro, Sublime, Cascade 220, Frog Tree, Elsebeth Lavold, Dream in Color, Lorna’s Laces, Malabrigo and my mind has gone blank.  I promise you I am not doing it justice.   Carol was a great lady and made some yarn shop recommendations when she heard we were on our way to St. Louis.

We got into St. Louis rather late since we made long stops along the way.   We crashed and rested up because Friday was going to be a busy day.

We met in the lobby at 8:30 and went to a local eatery to have breakfast.   We finished just in time to drive over to The Loopy Ewe.   I’d be lying if I didn’t tell you this was THE store that motivated us for this trip.   I’ve followed Sheri’s blog since she started it and almost felt like I knew her before meeting her.   Well let me tell you this, Sheri is as warm and welcoming in person as she is on her blog.   The only thing that surprised me was how tall she is.   But I digress.   We were standing in the hall in front of the door waiting for 10:00 to roll around.   (We are so polite.  lol)   This lady walks in and sees us standing there and reaches over and pushes the doorbell.   Pretty soon the door opens and it is Sheri herself!   She sees all of us, gasps, grabs the Loopy Elf who rang the bell and pulled her in closing the door.   Before we could register what happened the door opens wide with Sheri’s big grin and her arm waving us in welcoming us to The Loopy Ewe.   I’ve seen the various shots on the blog but it doesn’t prepare you for the real thing.   There were rows and rows of gorgeous yarns.   So many that it was overwhelming in the beginning and I had to wander just to let it all soak in.   Sheri lined us up and took our picture as a group and put us on her blog!   (I’m a little late so if you have not seen it scroll back to 2-6-09.)   We felt like royalty!   Thanks to everyone who sent messages.   I think overall we spent a good 2 hours there and I won’t tell our totals but I think we dropped a pretty penny or two.  ;-)   Here are some shots I managed to take.   I am sooo bad about not taking pictures.

img_1417

We left The Loopy Ewe with promises to return.   That is no empty promise!

We then went to meet some friends of Emily’s for lunch.   If you haven’t read Anita’s blog yet, this is where she missed the step and broke her fibula.   Bless her heart!   It slowed her down some but that is one strong gal!   She only missed out on one yarn shop and that was Knitorious.   Sandy is the owner of that shop and she was great!   That shop carries Kauni, Malabrigo, Koigu, Blue Sky Alpaca, Schaefer, Colinette, Dream in Color, Lorna’s Laces, Noro and bunches more.   I think all of us left with lighter wallets after this shop also.   Sandy was so nice.   She gave us a group discount because there were so many of us.   How nice is that!!!!!

The next day we decided not to do Myers House because of Anita’s broken leg and stairs.   So the first shop we hit was Kirkwood Knittery.   I have to tell you this shop was very worth the trip.   Carol in Springfield had told us this was a must see and she was right.   KK carries Koigu, Isager, Rowan, Pagewood Farms, Schaefer, Blue Sky Alpaca, Crystal Palace, Louet, Dream in Color, Ella Rae, Elsebeth Lavold, Alpaca with a Twist, Arucania, Rowan, Noro, Prism and bunches more!   The shop isn’t as large as Knitorious but I think the yarn selection is fantastic.   The staff working that Saturday were very helpful and wonderful to us.

Our next stop was Knitty Couture.   This small shop is in the University City area.   She carries Rowan, Claudia, Schaefer, Alpaca with a Twist, Fleece Artist, Dream in Color, Cherry Tree Hill, Lorna’s Laces, Indie Dyer, Interlacements and much more.   She also had what I’d call some luxury yarns that I drooled over but not on.   lol   I was so yarned out by that time that I managed to resist.

On the way home we made a pit stop in Tulsa at Loops.   So overall we visited 7 very nice shops with a couple of new favorites in the mix.   But do you want to know what was nicest of all?   When each shop heard we were on a yarn crawl all of them went out of their way to make recommendations about another shop.   That was so nice and generous of each and every one.

The other fact I wanted to mention was how great it was to find great color selections!    I loved seeing all the color choices.   I heard several in our group make the same observation.   We love choices!

I know The Loopy Ewe carried Handmaiden and Fleece Artist but so did some of the other shops and now I can’t recall which ones.   We all fell in love with those yarns.   One of the shops said it was one of their best sellers.   I can see why.

So that’s the summary of the shops we visited.   I, for one, spent waaaaay too much money on yarn but it was so lovely!   I really don’t have a single regret but I do need to seriously cut back for awhile.   Sigh!   I know I have more yarn than I could ever knit in a lifetime but it just calls to me.   Oh well.   I did promise Marjie, Karen and Terri that I’ll leave my stash to them in my will.   lol   I wouldn’t want it to go to waste now would I?

Psst!   Arlene!   Terri almost ‘won’ at one shop.   I’ve never seen her buy so much yarn in one stop before!   :-)

8 Comments »

  1. 1
    Anita Says:

    I guess I ended up spending quite a bit if the Emergency Room counts! If not, I spent a respectable amount and am pleased with what I got.

  2. 2
    emily Says:

    I pass my pretty yarns, which are still stacked in their Trader Joe’s carriers in the dining room, every morning. Makes me happy!

  3. 3
    Karen Says:

    This was a wonderful trip!! The company, the food, the friendship and lets not forget the YARN!!

  4. 4
    Michelle Says:

    I’m glad you got to the Red Onion. My daughter lives in Joplin, and we bought their cakes for her wedding. I have also been to the Needle Niche and really enjoyed it, although their weekend hours are limited. I didn’t know about the shop in Springfield, but I will be visiting my daughter soon, and we will have to get to Springfield now!

    Sounds like a great trip – except for Anita’s accident. Sorry to hear about that.

  5. 5
    Laura Says:

    Drool, Drool . . . I wanna go next time, please?

  6. 6
    Carolyn Says:

    Wow….what wonderful, wonderful fun!!!! Want to see pics of the “haul”!

  7. 7
    Kay Says:

    Carolyn……I took those pictures last night and will try to post some time this week. I was laughing to Marjie today saying here I got all this gorgeous yarn in Missouri and I grabbed some good ole Cascade 220 from the stash and cast on a new hat today! lol

  8. 8
    Arlene Says:

    Baby sister already confessed. She may have been afraid her friends would rat her out!!!! lol


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

