Archive for January 19th, 2006

*&%$)(&*& Entrelac!!!

January 19, 2006

Last night I was in an odd knitting mood. I didn’t want to pick up any project I was working on and so I picked up two different yarns and knitted a few rows on each and then frogged them as I was just “playing”. Finally I picked up the Market Squares Bag I have not touched since last summer/fall and tried to remember how to do entrelac. Since I had not finished the tier I was on, it took me about 5 minutes to remember what to do and so I worked on finishing that tier. This morning, I was here at home waiting for UPS to deliver my new computer and I decided to work on that bag again. It took me over two hours to figure out how to do the different slant rectangle!!! lol The instructions said one thing, I tried it and so on and so forth but finally just looked at two tiers previous and ultimately got it to work. I’m working on smaller rectangles so I’m on the downhill slide. Maybe I’ll get it finished before the Winter Knitting Olympics!!

New computer is great! Funny how quickly things change. My old keyboard and trackball both had PS2 connections and the new computer has only USB connections. I thought oh great! I have to go buy a new track ball and keyboard before I can use my new computer. Duh. They sent a basic keyboard and a basic mouse with the new computer. lol I had to laugh at myself because I was thinking keyboard with mute or no keyboard at all!! Trackball not a mouse, as it ultimately bothers my neck. I found my trackball at Office Max tonight but didn’t find a keyboard I like.

Went to the Border’s knitting group tonight. I think we had 12 people and one was a guy!! He was with his girlfriend and knitting! Isn’t that great? We see so few men who knit. Tonight several were working on socks, one was working a knitted teddy bear, a scarf, a sweater and some afghan squares. Rebecca brought a beautiful scarf she and her daughter had made. She wove the most beautiful fabric on a loom. A friend had given the daughter some yarn she’d brought back from another country and so they got some other yarns to make accents in the fabric and it turned out beautiful.

I hear the shower calling my name!! G’night!