Sunday Sunday


These are some pictures of two pots of petunias I have out on the patio. As you can see the purple and whites are doing very well.

Even though I planted in self watering containers, I find I have to water every day. This heat has been so intense I think it evaporates or the plants are needing more water than usual.


I took these pictures a couple of weeks ago when this pot of petunias were doing well. I went out this morning and every bloom appears to be eaten back to the spines that hold the bloom at the base. It almost looks as if someone took a lighter and burned the flower except it’s not singed. This is the second time I’ve gone out and found this pot of petunias like that. Does anyone have a clue? Is it some kind of insect? But I can’t figure out why whatever does it to this pot and not the purple/whites. Weird!


I found this picture somewhere in my travels on the net. I thought it was sweet.

On the knitting front, I spent most of my Saturday at Gourmet Yarn. I sat on the comfy sofa and knitted while Margaret taught classes. I feel a tiny bit guilty as I heard some valuable tips in the seaming class. lol Hopefully, when I ever knit an item that has to be seamed I’ll remember what I heard. Anita came in and sat and knitted for awhile also. Of course we talked about the upcoming visit of Stephanie, The Yarn Harlot.

I knitted on the Nina Shawl while at Gourmet. I also fumbled around and figured out how to do a provisional cast-on. BUT, it’s very very messy looking. lol This is a new washcloth pattern and I thought I was doing pretty well when I realized I had 47 stitches and not 46. It was going to mess up the whole pattern so I frogged it. Isn’t that what I do best???? lol I’ve also started a baby blanket for charity knitting. I pick it up when I want something mindless and a different color to stare at for awhile.

If you haven’t been in Gourmet Yarn in awhile you need to stop by. Margaret has gotten some beautiful wood cabinets and the whole front of the store is completely different. It amazes me how the different display shelves show the yarn so well. Two of the cabinets make the novelty yarn just POP. I also found out yesterday that Margaret has carried some yarn that I’ve never noticed in her shop before, Rowan Summer Tweed. I knew she carried Rowan but I’d never noticed the Summer Tweed. Anyway, the shop is looking great. She still has the sofas and they are as comfy as ever.

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Terri Says:

    Did I understand you to say you FROGGED THE NINA SHAWL? Or just the cast on part? I guess I don’t understand.

    I didn’t make it there yesterday. I’m glad you had a great time.

  2. 2
    Kay Says:

    No, I did not frog the Nina Shawl. I frogged a washcloth that I had to start using a provisional cast-on. Sorry for the confusion!! Nina is alive and 1/3 completed. lol

  3. 3
    anita Says:

    Nina looks great, I can attest to that. It was very pleasant sitting on the couch with Kay. I tried to listen to Margaret’s tips but I kept missing parts of what she said!! Yep, we’re all ready for the SP-M event to happen. This is comparable to getting ready for a wedding (which I just finished)! I guess I’d better learn the provisional cast on if I’m going to learn to knit toe-up sox. You all better get signed up, just two weeks left till that class.

  4. I have a cardigan I made with Rowan Summer Tweed. I really like it but the yarn was kind of hard and scratchy to work with. I probably wouldn’t make anything else with it, although I DO like my cardigan.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment