My Flash Bit the Dust

2006_0516lexib00051.JPG

2006_1209image100010.JPG

As I was taking pictures the other day I realized I didn’t notice the flash going off. It just so happened that there was enough sunlight in the room that the pictures were ok. But that means I have to take pictures during the RIGHT time of the day. lol So I have one picture for today but pictures are going to be minimal at best until I get a new camera which won’t be until after Christmas.I swung by the library yesterday and picked up some books on blogging. I hate to admit it but WordPress isn’t as friendly to use (to me) as I thought it would be. Anyway, hopefully I’ll do some reading and figure out some of the bells and whistles.

Yesterday I also went up to Gourmet Yarn. I wanted to buy some red yarn. If you have not already heard about it I want you to read about the Red Scarf Project 2007. I know we have the charity knitting at guild for preemies and burial buntings etc. We also have CIC where we knit for orphans in other countries. But this is a project to help some who I would imagine are kind of forgotten. This is a knitting project for those orphans who “age out” of orphanages. These are kids who are going to school, who have no family and who get no mail or presents. Anyway, this just hit me in the right spot. I also have had my hankering for some red yarn too soooooooo with that in mind I knew I’d be knitting a red scarf. The requirements for this scarf are that it be at least 5 inches wide and 60 inches long. It needs to be gender neutral as the care packages will be sent out without thought to the gender of the recipient. The scarf can be in a gender neutral color other than red, but red is the name of the project. Those of you who know me well know I am inspired by the colors I’m knitting. If I don’t like the color, I’m not going to finish it. So this had to be the perfect red. I wanted tomato red, not blue red. I wanted something soft and cushy and wooly and warm. I also knew I was very drawn to some of the variegated yarns Margaret has in her shop. So this might be my fallback if I couldn’t find the perfect, SOFT, wooly tomato red. Ok, to cut to the chase, I ended up getting Schaefer’s Miss Priss in the Shirley Chisholm colorway. For those of you not familiar with it, it’s red, olive green, navy, gold and black and 100% merino wool. I took a picture with the best light I have in the house…lol….so you can see this yarn. It’s really nice and fun to work with. Because of all the colors I’m doing a simple 3K X 3P rib scarf. I think it lets the yarn speak for itself without getting lost trying to compete with a pattern. Oh and I almost forgot, this scarf needs to be mailed in by the end of January so that means it does not have to be completed before Christmas. Hey!! My kind of project!! Short, sweet and a once a year thing. What more could I ask for? lol

I just found out my sister, oldest niece and nephew are coming in the weekend before Christmas. I don’t know where everyone is going to sleep but we’ll figure out something.

Lexi says: I’m going to have to find some new hiding places.

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Terri Says:

    Great Charity idea. I need to work on more charity projects next year. Scarves are more my speed. Company for Christmas great – you’ll have to try some of those recipes from the cook book.

    Terri

  2. 2
    anita Says:

    I’ve been wanting to make something from Miss Priss so a scarf might be a good idea. I used the Sandra-red/blue/rust colorway and made a moebius and one from some blue Foliage I bought a while back. Today at GY I bought some red Fixation for more socks. All of mine seem to be pink! (or purple) go figure!

  3. 3
    katie Says:

    I should have guessed you’d pick a Schaefer’s yarn! 🙂 Sounds like a fun project.

  4. 4
    Shelly Says:

    Oh, I’ve read about and been interested in also participating in the Red Scarf project. A quick and easy knit in between other projects….sounds good!

    I so love knitting for others…especially those that have nobody to knit for them.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

