Time slips by……

img_0080.JPGimg_0085.JPGimg_0079.JPG

I could have sworn I posted Gourmet Yarn Knit-In pics but I checked my blog and I was wrong.  Here are a few.  New camera, I do not know why the two group shots have such a different tone.  I snapped them within seconds of each other.  Weird.  The middle pic is of Margaret getting her DUE REWARD!!!  Problem Child for the month of January.   We turned the tables on her and before she could close her mouth it was a done deal.  Such a deserving person.  🙂

If you’ve never attended a Knit-In at GY, you need to.  We have such a great time.  There were some new faces as there are each time.  It’s gotten so large Margaret is often trying to find extra chairs.  I keep telling her it’s time to elbow the business next door out of their space.  We need it!  lol  Many of you MIGHT remember Emily.  She hasn’t been seen at a knit-in since hmmmmm last summer???  Some excuses like vacation, work, anniversaries ….things such as that.  She did a DRIVE-BY Saturday.  She dropped in long enough to sit and visit a few minutes then out the door she went.  It was very nice seeing her even if for only a few minutes.  

I think this last knit-in had a slow cooker theme.  I think I counted 5.  We have some GREAT food at our knit-ins.  I really love that people take the time to cook something.  Of course, the fact that Margaret gives away gift certificates for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place might have something to do with it.  Anyway, it works!! 

I’m very tickled to say I won first place for my Potatoes Supreme.  I’ve had several people ask me for the recipe and so I decided to post it here.  This recipe was given to me by a Tulsa friend years ago.  It states to bake it in an oven.  Out of necessity I cooked it in a slow cooker for a holiday dinner at my old job, and that is what I recommend.  I made it and baked it in the oven the first time I made it.  It was dry and not all that tasty.  I thought what a waste of time.  So when I was asked to make a potato dish for a holiday dinner I tried the slow cooker.  WOW!!  It makes all the difference in the world.  I’ve never in my life been asked for a recipe as much as I have been asked for this one.  I haven’t made it in 2 years since I retired.  The new job never has dinners like a potluck so I’ve had no need.  Anyway, here goes.

Potatoes Supreme

6 large baking potatoes

1 pint of sour cream

1 stick melted butter

4 cups shredded cheddar cheese

green onions, chopped

salt and pepper to taste

Cook the potatoes whole, unpeeled, in a pot of water until almost done.  Cool enough to handle and then peel.  Run potatoes thru a food processor to grate.  Add grated potatoes to a large bowl and add the rest of the ingredients.  Place the mixture in a slow cooker and cover.  Cook for 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low.  Very simple and easy to make.  I sometimes cook the potatoes a night ahead.  Sometimes I get as far as putting the mixture in the slow cooker and then refrigerate overnight.  Take out and cook the next day.  It sure is a crowd pleaser!!  Enjoy!!

Well, Lexi and I are still in our jammies.  I considered going in this morning but decided to wait one hour and I’m glad I did.  Talked to my boss at 9:15 and he said it wasn’t bad but was coming down worse.  I stayed home.  The car is in the garage.  I finished my homemade noodles and they are drying.  The turkey drumettes are in the pot with onions, carrots and celery making some stock for turkey noodle soup.  Mmmmm, doesn’t that sound good?  I’ve not made it from scratch before so we’ll see how it goes.

I ran up to Gourmet Yarn on Wednesday knowing  this weekend would be no-driving weather.  I got a couple of skeins of Cascade 220 Tweed for a cabled scarf I’m going to make.  I’ve had to start over two times now.  The reason?  Something about me trying to read charts and not realizing the rule changes every other row.  Geeez!!  Anyway, I think I’m on the right track now.  We’ll see.  This is probably the most intricate pattern I’ve attempted so far.  Well, I dunno…socks are still pretty intimidating.  lol  

I’m also working on a rolled brim hat out the leftover Miss Priss from the Red Scarf Project 2007.  I’m on the decreases now.  Should finish it over this weekend.  

I hope everyone is using good sense and staying in where it’s warm and safe.  While we may know how to drive on ice, there are many others who don’t exercise the caution we do.  Those are the ones who kill.  Stay safe!!  Hope your electricity stays on!!!   

 

img_0096.JPGLexi says this is sleeping weather!

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    lawyerlit Says:

    I was just in OKC yesterday and went to the GYC. Margaret was indeed very helpful. It’s a lovely store, and the plan is to stop by every time I have to go to OKC for work. I wondered if you were there yesterday afternoon, but I was embarassed to ask!

  2. 2

    No, I wasn’t there on Thursday but was on Wednesday morning. You should have asked anyway. Margaret would have loved it!

  3. 3
    Carolyn Says:

    Knit in is fun, isn’t it?!! I so look forward to it every month! Thanks for posting the recipe….those potatoes are yuuuummy!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

