Another great knit-in

Yesterday we had another great knit-in at Gourmet Yarn.  We actually ran out of chairs.  It just grows and grows.  I’ve noticed there are several who caught on to what I and a few others do….get there early!!!  lol  But in all fairness I had a mitten class at 1 and Karen made Saturday an all day knitting affair by taking a sock class at 10, the mitten class at 1 followed by the knit-in.  Some of us who weren’t able to attend the “surprise” party held on Margaret’s actual birthday, gave her a few surprises at the knit-in.  Since I haven’t mastered picture arrangement on WordPress yet, I’ll describe some of the pictures and you’ll have to decide which one fits the scene.  lol  We decided that a great gag gift would be to give Margaret a huge bag of her “favorite” yarn…..Red Heart.  If you’ve never heard her mutter that name, just listen.  She says it often.  (Actually, we knew she’d donate her gift to the KnitWits where it can be put to good use.  To the KnitWits, I sincerely apologize as I know how knitting with acrylic feels.)  Jan gifted Margaret with something “warm and cuddly” to hold at night.  As you can tell he is a rather cuddly handsome fellow.  Unfortunately, poor Linen was afraid of him.  Margaret finally convinced Linen her new buddy was ok.   Linen was trying to convince Jan that she should share what was on her plate.  I don’t know if it worked but she sure was polite in her begging.  Terri and Karen had a lovely time sharing some kind of naughty talk while Karen patiently wound (or as Terri would say…balled) some alpaca.  And I had Emily and Karen pose for an evidence pic that Emily truly did attend even if she did get up and leave early.

On the knitting front….As you can see I have finished the leg of the second sock.  This morning I started the heel flap.  The mitten I worked on in class yesterday is the aqua angora.  Pretty and oh so soft to pet but let me tell you I have aqua fuzz/strands all over the place.  Grrrrrrrrr  The pink, which those of you who know me know I am not a pink gal, is a gift.  I am making the short-row round dishcloth Susan taught us at last guild meeting.

And last but certainly not least is the fair Lexi.  As you can see in the picture she has finally accepted her kitty cushion.  She rarely hesitates to jump on it now but she still prefers to sleep with me at night in our wonderfully soft and new bed.  The girl has taste.  😉

img_0148.JPGimg_0147.JPGimg_0150.JPGuntitled.JPGimg_0154.JPGimg_0143.JPG

img_0155.JPGimg_0157.JPG

img_0159.JPG

img_0161.JPG

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carolyn Says:

    Love the pics of last night. One of these days I’m going to remember to bring my camera!

  2. 2
    Shelly Says:

    Oh, knit-in looks like everyone had a wonderful time! It’s great to see Emily, too! : )

    The socks, mittens, and washcloth look great!

    And Lexi, well as usual, she’s beautiful and the embodiment of relaxation and comfort.; )

  3. 3
    katie Says:

    Great pictures! One of these days, I hope to coordinate my schedule enough to get to attend.

    Good lookin’ socks! I can’t wait to start the “sock” parts on mine!

  4. 4
    rebecca Says:

    I recently learned to make the short row dishcloth, it’s a great pattern!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

