Out of the mouths of babes…..

Ok, I’m giving credit where credit is due for even thinking of blogging this story.  But if you have not read Crazy Aunt Purl’s blog today, do so.  I couldn’t help but laugh.  And it reminded me of a question I asked my mother when I was 13 years old.  My question brought about a slightly different reaction but you’ll hear about that later.  First I must say this may be R rated and if you have a child reading over your shoulder send them to their room.    Secondly, if you are one of the handful I’ve already told this story, I’m sorry, you’re hearing it again.  lol

Ok, back in the late sixties I was in 7th grade English class with my friend, Debbie.  We were both very smart girls and were way ahead of the class.  Our teacher allowed us to go to the back of the room and do SRA Labs.  (Don’t ask me what that is as my menopause brain will not allow me to recover that tiny piece of info but it was an extra credit thing.)  So while Debbie and I are sitting back there trying not to giggle out loud but honestly working the labs, another classmate got my attention.  Now this classmate was Debra.  She was not a very bright girl or at least she never let on that she had any interest or apptitude for learning 7th grade English.  I had already noticed that she had some dime store novel hidden inside her text book.  After all, that’s why she sat on the back row, slumped down with her textbook held straight up.  I turned to see what she wanted after I heard “psssssst…..psssssst”.  She was handing me her dime store novel and had it opened to this one page.  She whispered,  “read that”.  So I started reading this page that obviously was the escalating fire of a steamy sex scene.  All I remember reading was something along the line of the guy ripping her bra and panties off.  The next bit is where I drew the line.  The author went on to describe how the  man lowered his mouth to her breasts and began to suck on them.  WELL!!!!!!!!   I was so shocked…so horrified I know I gasped out loud.    I said in a rather loud whisper….”I’m NOT reading this!!!!”   To which my friend, Debbie, said, “let me see it”.  lol  So I passed the book to her.  I honestly don’t recall her reaction or any comments, I just remember her passing the book back to Debra.    I must’ve sat there in stone cold silence until the end of class.  I know my cheeks were glowing with red embarrassment and my brain was starting to form questions.

Now my mother grew up in a home where nothing had been explained.  She didn’t know about the process a young girl goes thru in blossoming into a woman.  Her uncle finally caught on as to why she was hiding in her room in her bed and told his sister (my grandmother) to get in there and talk to her and tell her what’s going on.  So with that in mind, my mother vowed that her kids were going to know what was going to happen in time to be prepared.  So when I was around 11 or so she took me to her bedroom (the only room that had a lock besides the bathroom) and locked the door so we could have a talk.  Now the main point of this behind-the-door conversation was to tell me about menstruation.   I don’t recall now if I asked my two million questions then or one at a time or had another closed door session but I did ask questions.  And of course one of my questions brought her to tell me about “intercourse”.   To this day, I cringe when I hear that word.  lol  She couldn’t say “making love”  or  “having sex”.  She had to say “intercourse’.  Ugh…what an ugly word.  Anyway, I knew the basic mechanics of how babies were made and that the reason a woman/girl had a monthly period was to go thru the cycle etc.  And that is what a husband and wife did AFTER marriage to make babies.  Ok, I blushed when she told me but my curiosity was greater than my embarrassment and besides….this was very informative information being passed on here.  So I asked every question I could think of.  I wasn’t missing THAT opportunity!

So fast forward a year and I’m starting the 7th grade.  That’s a big move going from grade school to a big huge school where you change classes and mingle with high school students.  So what happens but I start my progression to womanhood the 2nd day of school.  Yuck.  Even though I was told what to expect, I was not ready for this emotionally.  That is another story and more trauma but necessary to know that I felt that scene in the dime store novel was just some sick person’s mind trying to paint the most dirty, vile images he/she could think of!!  My mother had started working fulltime at this point so when I got home from school I had to wait for her to get home before I could ask my questions and express my outrage.  When my mother walked in the front door I was there to greet her and nothing but nothing would do that she follow me immediately into her bedroom and I shut and locked the door.  I remember her grumbling about what on earth was so important that I had to drag her in there the second she walked in the door.   Little did she know!  lol  I remember in my best indignant voice asking her this question.  “Does a man have to suck on your nipples in order for you to have intercourse?”   Oh I wished you could have seen the look on her face.  The way her mouth started to turn into a smile but she stiffled it because she knew I wasn’t ready to hear this.  The corners of her mouth kept twitching trying to not laugh or smile but not quite being able to keep it straight.  Her eyes were trying not to betray the chuckle she was smothering but I remember seeing it.  I was too outraged to recognize it at the time but it is branded in my memory now.  She finally said:  “well, no, you don’t have to let a man suck your nipples in order to have intercourse.”   Still outraged I went on to say that I would NEVER let a man suck on my breasts, that those were only for nursing babies!!!!!   And with that I unlocked the door and went to my room to brood!

Needless to say, I have since learned a few things all these years later but I will never forget how she held it all together so that her innocent-not-ready-to accept- all-the-pleasures-in-life daughter could retain that little bit of child left in her.   😉

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carolyn Says:

    Reminds me of when I told my two girls about the “facts of life!” I, like your Mother, came from a household that just didn’t talk about it. At least Mom handed me a book about it and told me to read it so I wasn’t clueless…but I vowed to be upfront with my girls about it when the time came. We gathered together and had “the talk”…focusing mainly on menstuation. Melissa took it pretty much in stride and asked a few questions….Amanda just stood there. I finally asked her if she had any questions and her response was….”NO!!! That’s the grossest thing I have ever heard and I’m just NOT GOING TO DO IT…..AT ALL!”…LOL. She didn’t believe me when I told her there wasn’t much she could do about it!

  2. 2
    Latoya Says:

    What a funny story! That is hilarious how you told it. Life can be funny.

    I started my intro to womanhood very early – and while in school. I didn’t know what was going on, so I’m a part of the generation that wasn’t told beforehand.

    Lovin’ the story. Thanks for sharing.

    Knit on!

  3. How funny! You’re starting to give Crazy Aunt Pearl’s blog some serious competition (IMHO)! Keep the stories coming.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

