My blog, my state, my rant

If you don’t like the great state of Oklahoma, stop reading now. This is going to be a rant but it’s also going to be a promotion of a state in which I’m proud to live.

I was born in this state in Osage County in Hominy, Oklahoma. Did you know Osage County is the largest county in the state?

We moved around a few times before settling in what I call my hometown. We lived in Cleveland, Claremore, Cushing, Bartlesville and finally Sapulpa. Sapulpa is home to Frankoma Pottery. John Frank and his wife started that company many years ago. They built a beautiful home there in the east side of the city. I grew up attending the same church as he and his wife. The cross in the sanctuary of our church was designed and crafted by John Frank. It’s made of Frankoma pottery and is simple yet beautiful. He came to our school once and gave us an inspirational talk while he crafted a pot on a potters wheel.

Tulsa was the largest city close to Sapulpa and we spent a lot of weekend time going shopping there. Tulsa is the second largest city in the state. It is home to two world famous museums, The Gilcrease Museum which has some fantastic western art and The Philbrook which was originally built by Waite Phillips. There are two private universities in Tulsa, University of Tulsa and Oral Roberts University. Tulsa has one of the nation’s largest concentrations of art deco architecture. And I can vouch for this personally, was selected as one of the most desirable cities in which to live. Tulsa is located at the foothills of the Ozarks and is also in the heart of Tornado Alley. Tulsa also has The Golden Driller and this is a totally unknown fact for you. One of my best friend’s daughter has had a crush on that Golden Driller since she was a child. Tulsa has the Riverparks area with a pedestrian bridge made from an old railroad track, running/walking paths alongside the river and now at the southern end an aquarium.

I moved to Oklahoma City in 2000. Oklahoma City is home to the Cowboy Hall of Fame, Oklahoma City University, Oklahoma City National Memorial, Myriad Botanical Gardens that has the Crystal Bridge designed by I. M. Pei. OKC has the Omniplex and one of the top zoo’s in the nation.

I moved to Norman almost two years ago. Norman is home to the University of Oklahoma, Sam Noble Museum, and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

Oklahoma has several lakes, Keystone, Grand, Hudson, Eufaula, and Texoma to name a few. Other scenic locations are the Wildlife Preserve by Lawton, Turner Falls in the southern part of the state, Talihina Drive which is gorgeous in the fall. Bartlesville has Woolaroc, Ponca City has the Pioneer Woman Museum, Claremore is home to the Will Rogers Memorial and there are many more but I won’t list them all.

Just a few weeks ago Oklahoma City was named in the top five of most desirable cities to live. Tulsa had that distinction in 2005. Our cost of living in this state is below the national average. What does that mean? It means we don’t have to pay a quarter of a million for 1200 square feet of house. We have fresh air to breath and wide open spaces in which to run. Our crime rate is lower than most urban areas, thank God. We don’t have dead refrigerators left on our curbs. We don’t have to worry about how many people will try to panhandle from us as we walk down the street. We don’t have security bars over most of our storefronts. (Ok, there are some but not over the majority.) We are a state where people will wave at you even if they don’t know your name. People here will hold a door open for the person coming out behind them. Why? Because it’s common courtesy and Oklahoman’s are, for the most part, good people. We have green grass to cover our lawns, not cement. We can plant flowers or vegetables right out our front and back doors. We can drive our cars to work and not worry about the price of parking. We don’t have to leave 2 hours early so we can make it to work on time because of traffic. We can park our cars on the curbside and not worry if the street cleaner is coming. We don’t have to carry our groceries inside a building and then get on the elevator to get to our floor. We can open our windows and let the fresh air in without worry of pollution. Well, ok…we do have to worry about dust and pollens but that’s not what this post is about. lol

Ok, if you are asking yourself now why I’m posting about this I’ll tell you why now. I am sick of people knocking Oklahoma. I had a client drop in this week. He doesn’t speak English very well so he brought his brother-in-law with him. The brother in law is from NYC. They dropped in unannounced and without an appointment. They were grumbling that the attorney wasn’t available to see them. During the course of conversation the BIL from NYC said they’d drive around and come back later as “there was nothing to do in Oklahoma ….and after all it wasn’t NYC”. That was the straw that broke the camel’s back. I politely told him ( and believe me I was trying not to clinch my teeth) that there was plenty to do around Oklahoma. I started listing things in Norman and Oklahoma City that he could do. I listed the museums, the universities, the bombing memorial. Then I told him about the scenic venues and told him about our affordable cost of living. I ended it by telling him there is plenty for you to do here if you look.

When my boss returned to the office I shared the above with him. He lived in NYC for a brief time when he was younger. He just laughed. He said don’t tell him how great it is to live here. I asked why and he said: No one wants to visit here because they don’t realize how great it is. Don’t tell any of them because we want to keep it that way. The smile was slow but I realized what he was saying. If you think this state is beneath you, then leave. We don’t need your type here. We know how great we are and how proud we are to be from Oklahoma. If you don’t agree, please allow me to hold the door open for you while you leave.

P.S. If you agree with me please leave a comment!  🙂

10 Comments »

  1. 1
    Nancy Says:

    Kay,

    As a transplanted “Okiefornian” (via Costa Rica), I couldn’t agree with you more. I feel blessed to have moved to Oklahoma pretty much on a whim (and without my husband ever having seen the state before his plane landed here when we moved). It has a natural beauty all its own and certainly all the attributes you ascribe to it. But, from my perspective, the people are the state’s greatest asset! They’re wonderful, for the most part. People ask why we moved from Costa Rica to Oklahoma and all I can say is while it is nice to live some place exotic and beautiful, one cannot compare the two. Now, having lived both places, I take Oklahoma, hands down!!!

  2. 2
    Linda Says:

    I agree. I (mostly) love it here. There are a few things that run me up a tree, but overall it’s a wonderful place to live.

  3. 3
    Carol Says:

    My husband was in the Army for 22 yrs, so we’ve lived in many different places both here in the states and in Europe. When it was time to choose a place to settle after retirement, we came back home to Oklahoma.

  4. 4
    anita Says:

    You go girl! Rant on! I’m (born in Kansas but) raised in Oklahoma and have lived here all my life. I love our state. The Eastern part is beautiful, green and hill-y, and the western part is dry and flat and beautiful in it’s own way. Our people are wonderful, kind and generous. I like to visit other places but I’m always glad to get back to Oklahoma.

  5. 5
    katie Says:

    Amen, sister! I can’t tell you how sick I get of people who complain about Oklahoma or who just have to wrong idea about our state. When Rick and I were in Hawaii, we met a man from California who could not believe that people like us (we went mountain-climbing, hiking through volcanic craters, sea kayaking, and much more) would choose to live in Oklahoma. He actually said, “You would like living in California better.” Right, so we can live with stuck-up people like you? I don’t think so!

    And Rick is in Alaska right now on his trip up Mt. McKinley–he said that several of the people he has met, upon learning that he is from Oklahoma, expressed disappointment that he didn’t have a hick accent. WTF?

    Sorry, I think I just started my own rant on your blog here. Whoops! What I meant to say was, I’m with you 100%. I love this state.

  6. 6
    Shelly Says:

    I agree! I love it here. I’ve lived in other places and did quite a bit of traveling with work and…..there’s NO place like home.

  7. I agree! I love Oklahoma, When Jim retired from the Air Force we could have gone anywhere but we chose to stay – that was over 20 yrears ago!

  8. 8
    Marjie Says:

    Well two of my comments are already posted, but here’s another Amen Sister and “there’s no place like home.” Once you have lived here there’s something here that draws you back. The one time I moved from Oklahoma, I was back within a year!

  9. 9
    rebecca Says:

    I’m an “Okiefornian” too. Born in Muskogee, grew up in TX, a stint in MO and 22 years in the San Francisco bay area. And now nearly 2 years in OK.

    I like it here for many of the reasons you listed. Oklahomans have been very welcoming to me, and there are PLENTY of amenities.

  10. 10
    Elizabeth Says:

    My husband (who’s lived in Aspen, San Diego, Austin, etc) is a realtor. BUT, he jokingly wants to tell people not to move here. We are living in a best-kept secret:-) Oklahoma, OK!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

