Reading

Long before I discovered the internet, I used to be an avid reader.  I went thru the historical romance “bodice ripper” stage.  Thank God I got over that!!  lol  I’ve also read alot of what I call “fluff” novels thru the years.  Sometimes I just need an easy read to distract my mind from life’s everyday stress.  And sometimes I will find a book that makes a huge impression on me.  That’s what this post is about today.  And the book that I’m posting about is this:

Just a little side story here.  My sister wasn’t the student when we were growing up.  I was.  She did what she had to in order to get by.  I was the near-straight A student, the one who made the honor role and I was the reader of the two.  So fast forward to a few years ago and my sister (who did go on to graduate from OSU and become a very good art teacher) told me about her book club and this wonderful book they had read.  It was called The Kite Runner.  I knew if it caught her attention it had to be damned good.  So I got the book and started to read.  It grabbed me from page 1.  I’m not going to analyze the book.  But let me just say that I’ve never read a book that made me feel so many emotions.   Not only is this an interesting story that taught me about kite flying and how seriously it is taken in Asia, but it also teaches a life lesson.  I couldn’t put this book down and remember when I came to a certain part of the story how upset I was that I was reading it.  I felt the tragedy, the sorrow and the disappointment along with knowing the guilt that would follow the character for the rest of his life.  With that said, I strongly recommend this book.  And yes, get ready, this knitting blog may have several book recommendations coming up in the future!!

PS:  Lexi loves it when I read because that means my lap is hers!!!  No knitting to take up any space!  lol

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    rebecca Says:

    we read this book in our book club back in CA before I moved out here. I was disappointed by the book. I agree that it was gripping, but I don’t feel I learned anything about life in the middle east that I didn’t already know, and I didn’t feel happy to have spent the time reading it. It prompted one book club member to share the story of her rape and recovery.
    I don’t plan to read the sequel, which just came out to much fanfare.
    Just my opinion. I enjoyed reading your post.

  2. 2

    Rebecca, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy reading the book. But I do think you missed the points in my post. 1. This is a piece of fiction not a book of history or fact. Which to me means it tells a story. I found the story about kite flying to be of great interest. 2. The life lesson it teaches is don’t let cowardice keep you from doing what is right. Step up to the plate and do the right thing. I think that a fiction novel that teaches that lesson to anyone is great. I hope those of you who read these comments will read the book and form your own opinion.

  3. 3
    Carolyn Says:

    I am an avid reader too! I don’t read as much as I used to…usually because I’m knitting :-), but I do read every night in bed before I go to sleep. Takes me a little longer to get through one, but I still usually knock out 2 to 3 books a month. I will try to pick this one up next time I’m in the book store!

  4. 4
    MG Says:

    I am currently reading the book and I am enjoying it. I think the underlying story also is the way we do not have equality in our society and how prejudice still reigns. I thought it was most interesting how the two boys were supposedly best friends but there still was that class distinction of who was better than whom. I don’t think the rape was so much about the rape as it was pointing out character differences and still remaining among the lower class even though he was more of a man. Also how religion still plays a part in war.

  5. 5
    rebecca Says:

    I can’t wait to see which book you recommend next. And I agree, read this book and form your own opinion. It’s much better than the vast majority of books. Over the last 15 years or so (ever since George Bush the elder’s 1992 war on Iraq) I have read a lot books about Afghanistan, Iran, etc, as I became very interested in how women live in the Muslim world. It seems they compensate by having a richer society with other women (they live together while in our society we don’t generally live with other women) when things go well, although they are subservient to men. This particular book didn’t include women at all, except near the end, and that was part of my disapointment. In my book club, we thought the author was writing in hopes of his book being picked up for a movie. Could happen…The sequal is about two women who are first and second wives and live together, so I suppose I should want to read it, hmmm.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

