From Sea to Shining Sea…

When Firefly first posted about this effort I knew I wanted to be a part of it. I thought I’d work on this post long before the 4th of July and not procrastinate as I most likely do. But I did. I have had many thoughts roll thru my mind about what to post and could not make up my mind.

If you ask many people who have never visited Oklahoma about our state we find out they think we still have cowboys, indians and teepees here. I have to laugh because we do have cowboys and native americans and I’m sure there may be a teepee around or more than one but I’ve not seen any as of late. Instead this is what I have to offer:

tulsa-0012.jpgtulsa-0022.jpg

tulsa-0042.jpg

tulsa-0082.jpgtulsa-0152.jpgtulsa-0182.jpg

These are a few of the sites from Tulsa.

There are many who had their mental images of Oklahoma change on April 19, 1995. These pictures were taken in December of 2006.

okc-bombing-memorial-0012.jpgokc-bombing-memorial-0022.jpg

okc-bombing-memorial-0042.jpgokc-bombing-memorial-0102.jpg

okc-bombing-memorial-0172.jpg

This picture is of the building that was supposed to be our capital:

img_0580.jpg

While our state was forming some thieves from Oklahoma City slipped up to Guthrie and stole the state seal. This is the capital building built in Guthrie which was supposed to be our capital. Now it is a Scottish Rite building, part of the Freemasonary.

Here is our capital today:

img_0598.jpg

The building was built minus the dome. The dome project started in 2000. I happened to move to OKC in August of that year. My office had the perfect view of the capital and I am happy to say I had a daily view of the dome project. It was really neat to watch, especially when they used a helicopter to lower the statue on the top. That took two tries to get it lowered and secured.

img_0590.jpg

Oklahoma was admitted to the Union on November 16th, 1907 as the 46th state. That means our great state will celebrate it’s 100th birthday later this year. I apologize I do not have any pictures of the amber waves of grain. We’ve had 16+ days of rain and that is highly unusual for this state. I’ve heard our wheat farmers are not doing well as the fields are too soggy to get the equipment in to harvest those precious grains.

If you have not visited Oklahoma I’d like to extend an invitation to do so. The Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial is one of the most visited sites in our state. It is a beautiful memorial and remembers those who lost their lives well.

In Tulsa we have an aquarium, fine examples of art deco architecture, ORU, University of Tulsa, Gilcrease Museum, Philbrook Museum and lots of great shopping.

In Oklahoma City we have the Bombing Memorial, Myriad Gardens, Cowboy Hall of Fame, Bricktown, Remington Park and Frontier City just to name a few.

And I thank Firefly for allowing me to represent a great state of which I’ve been a lifelong resident.

Oklahoma is the Heartland. One of 50 great states.

logo.jpg

Click on any direction below to find other blogs participating in the Pike’s Peak Project: From Sea to Shining Sea!


North
West
East
South
4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Shelly Says:

    Great job!

  2. 2
    Anita Says:

    Great post Kay. We’ve also got the fabulous OKC Art Museum. Have you ever noticed the sign on I-35 that has a map and an arrow that says that spot is the center of the United States?
    I love our state and am proud of our spirit of generosity.

  3. 3

    A wonderful contribution to the Pike’s Peak Project. I love the many photos you included, as well.

    Thank you for taking the time to treat us all to your report on a lovely state. My husband and I stopped in Oklahoma to say overnight with some friends on our honeymoon trip from California to NY … from sea to shining sea!

    Warmest regards,
    firefly

  4. 4
    Sue Mauer Says:

    Beautiful pictures. Excellent post!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

