Pickin’ tomatoes

img_0651.jpg

Yes I have two tomatoes. These are the only homegrown tomatoes I’ll have this summer. These are the 2nd and 3rd tomato hats I’ve made. One is for a co-worker’s new baby and the other is for a co-worker who wants to give it as a baby gift. They are so easy and quick to knit up. This is the Ann Norling pattern of fruit hats. I used Classic Elite Skye Tweed in tartan red and spruce green. I used size 6 Knit Picks Options needles with a 47″ cable so the entire hat was knit magic loop style. I am NOT a DPN fan so magic loop makes knitting the stem a breeze.

img_0648.jpg

img_0652.jpg

img_0653.jpg

I wound these skeins this morning. They are destined to become a Lucy Bag. That pattern is from the Two Old Bags line. I saw a picture of a bag someone had knit using different colors and I knew immediately I had to knit one. These are the colors I’ve selected but I have a nagging feeling I need some lime green. What do you think? Oh, this is the always reliable Cascade 220. Great felting wool.

img_0655.jpg

This is Lexi. She was sitting on her rug patiently waiting for me to finish “playing” with the yarn. I tried to get her to pose for the picture. This is what she offered:

img_0656.jpg

Hope you have a great weekend and that you find some time to knit!

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Emma Says:

    The tomato hats are adorable!

  2. 2
    Emily Says:

    Those hats are to die for. And getting cats to pose is never easy. . .

    (Yes, I do exist.)

  3. 3
    katie Says:

    My love of tomato hats borders on the ridiculous. Yours are truly adorable.

  4. 4
    Carolyn Says:

    Cute, cute, cute! I just love those little hats!

  5. 5
    Carrie Says:

    Awwww, your Lexi reminds me of my Dharma in her younger days….


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

