A long list….

Mark with bold the things you have ever knit, with italics the ones you plan to do sometime, and leave the rest. 

  • Afghan
  • I-cord
  • Garter stitch
  • Knitting with metal wire
  • Shawl/Stole (I’m anti-Jemima Puddleducks syndrome…give me a wrap or stole!  lol)
  • Stockinette stitch
  • Socks: top-down
  • Socks: toe-up
  • Knitting with camel yarn
  • Mittens: Cuff-up
  • Mittens: Tip-down
  • Hat
  • Knitting with silk (Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran has silk in it, that counts, right? )
  • Moebius band knitting
  • Participating in a KAL
  • Sweater
  • Drop stitch patterns
  • Knitting with recycled/secondhand yarn (C’mon, I turn off the lights when I leave the room; I shop at Wal-*art to get lower prices….I can’t imagine unraveling something to reuse the yarn.   Ugh.)
  • Slip stitch patterns
  • Knitting with banana fiber yarn  (Never say never)
  • Domino knitting (=modular knitting)
  • Twisted stitch patterns
  • Knitting with bamboo yarn (feels yummy but has no give to it)
  • Two end knitting
  • Charity knitting (Red Scarf Project)
  • Knitting with soy yarn
  • Cardigan
  • Toy/doll clothing
  • Knitting with circular needles
  • Baby items
  • Knitting with your own handspun yarn (I LOVE walking into a nice pretty yarn shop and selecting my yarn all ready to slip my needles into it…I have no desire whatsoever to spin.)
  • Slippers
  • Graffiti knitting (knitting items on, or to be left on the street)
  • Continental knitting
  • Designing knitted garments
  • Cable stitch patterns (incl. Aran)
  • Lace patterns
  • Publishing a knitting book
  • Scarf
  • Teaching a child to knit
  • American/English knitting (as opposed to continental) (my preferred method)
  • Knitting to make money (I sold a knitted item just last week.)
  • Buttonholes
  • Knitting with alpaca
  • Fair Isle knitting
  • Norwegian knitting
  • Dying with plant colours (no desire to dye either)
  • Knitting items for a wedding
  • Household items (dishcloths, washcloths, tea cosies…)
  • Knitting socks (or other small tubular items)on two circulars (I’m a magic loop fan.)
  • Olympic knitting (I never finished.)
  • Knitting with someone else’s handspun yarn
  • Knitting with dpns (Yes, but as God as my witness, never again.  😉  )
  • Holiday-related knitting
  • Teaching a male how to knit (I would if one wanted to learn)
  • Bobbles
  • Knitting for a living (talk about a great way to ruin a passion…no way)
  • Knitting with cotton
  • Knitting smocking
  • Dying yarn
  • Steeks
  • Knitting art
  • Knitting two socks on two circulars simultaneously 
  • Fulling/felting
  • Knitting with wool
  • Textured knitting
  • Kitchener BO
  • Purses/bags
  • Knitting with beads
  • Swatching
  • Long Tail CO
  • Entrelac
  • Knitting and purling backwards
  • Machine knitting
  • Knitting with self patterning/self striping/variegating yarn
  • Stuffed toys
  • Knitting with cashmere (Again, the Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran)
  • Darning
  • Jewelry
  • Knitting with synthetic yarn (not my fave)
  • Writing a pattern
  • Gloves
  • Intarsia
  • Knitting with linen
  • Knitting for preemies
  • Tubular CO
  • Freeform knitting
  • Short rows
  • Cuffs/fingerless mits/armwarmers
  • Pillows
  • Knitting a pattern from an online knitting magazine
  • Rug (I’ve started one, does that count?)
  • Knitting on a loom
  • Thrummed knitting
  • Knitting a gift (lots)
  • Knitting for pets
  • Shrug/bolero/poncho
  • Knitting with dog/cat hair
  • Hair accessories
  • Knitting in public (always)
2 Comments »

  1. 1
    margo Says:

    I LOVE the tomato hats!!

    RYC: The pattern is free and it’s located here: http://mysite.verizon.net/vzewvalu/lousends/id3.html

  2. 2
    Carolyn Says:

    How interesting!!! It’s neat to read through the list and realize that I’ve done more in my “knitting life” than I realized…..and that there is sooo much more to do!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

