Vintage Knitting Pictures

373931199_586de84329.jpg

I found these pictures on the net several weeks back.  The first picture is a very young Debbie Reynolds.

373931200_c31a552bdb.jpg

Here is Katharine Hepburn.

373931202_ee8400f7a0.jpg

And this is Judy Garland knitting while singing with Mickey Rooney.

Today I watched an episode of Twilight Zone I had recorded and there was a scene where a woman was knitting.  I noticed she was a thrower, like me.   I think it is so cool to see knitting in pictures like these.   To me, it’s interesting to see how the craft has remained as the years have gone by.

Last night was the September Knit In at Gourmet Yarn.  We had a great time and played knitting bingo.  That was a lot of fun.

And for my big news…..I’m going to Stitches East next month!  I’ve never been to Baltimore or that part of the country before.  It will be very exciting.

img_0722.jpg

This is a close up of the back of the bee hat I’m knitting.  I used the technique in “Knitting” by Meg Swansen.   It was very easy and if I didn’t point it out I don’t think you could tell where I joined the new color.

(Shelly….do my fingers pass inspection?)

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    katie Says:

    Cool pictures! And is that a gigantic ball o’ yarn there to the right of Judy Garland? And congrats on your upcoming trip–sounds fun!

  2. Wow, priceless photos !
    Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. 3
    Rosemary Says:

    I can’t even see a trace of a jog.. That’s excellent! (I love black and yellow, as long as it doesn’t come with a stinger!)


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

