Stitches East….the yarn

img_0882.jpg

This post will be about the yarns I bought at Stitches East 2007. First, there was no way I could shop at each booth as there were so many and we only went one day. We had tickets to attend for 3 days but we never made it back. There is A LOT to do in that area. Whew! When I attend my next event I’ll know to plan for more time and to take a very comfortable tote to carry my purchases. This is my clapotis and I’d guesstimate I’m about 1/3 into it. I think the colors are prettier in person. For some reason my camera isn’t flashing with all pictures this morning.

img_0884.jpg

The picture above is what I have left of the Noro Silk Garden.img_0885.jpg

This is Green Mountain Spinnery Cotton Comfort. I’ve long drooled over the Midwest Moonlight from Scarf Style. I’ve started that scarf a few times with other yarns and was never happy with the product so all were frogged. But this violet above is the same yarn used in the book so I’ll try it once again. Wish me luck!

img_0886.jpg

img_0887.jpg

These two pictures of are super merino sock from Tess Designer Yarns out of Portland, Maine. Her booth was a flurry of activity and if you could feel the yarn you’d know why. She has dyed yarn for over 23 years and she has it down to an art. I bought two different skeins, one for socks and another for a child’s victorian t-shirt.

img_0888.jpg

This is the Noro Kureyon I bought for 40% off. This is only one bag but rest assured I have enough to knit Lizard Ridge. Yippee!!!!!!!!!!

img_0889.jpg

These are my two skeins of Brook’s Farms Acero. This is the yarn I wanted to cuddle at night before I went to sleep. (just ask Marjie lol) This is a family run dying operation in Lancaster, Texas. I’ve seen their website and read other’s reviews of their yarn but I’d never been able to touch it before. Well, I’m in love. I bought this to knit The Morning Glory Wrap by Anne Hanson. I asked the lady at the booth if they would ever open a shop. The answer was no. She said she can’t run a shop when she has yarn to dye and she can’t dye yarn if she’s running a shop. Oh well. At least now I’ve touched and felt her yarn so I know what I’d get if I order online. img_0891.jpg

These are four skeins of the softest organic cotton I’ve ever touched. This booth was the Appalachian Baby Design. They had some of the loveliest baby garments and blanket. This yarn is made from Texas cotton but is processed in West Virginia I believe. The lady at the booth told us it washes up nicely and gets even more soft in the dryer. Yum. I get high just squeezing it in a yarn cake! lol img_0881.jpg

What is this? Well, it’s tomato hat number 4. Classic Elite Skye Tweed because it gives it a “real” appearance. Gotta get it done pretty quick as it is a gift and gets put first on the priority list. Clapotis, never fear, I’ll return soon. I promise!

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Michelle Says:

    Wow – you did well for just one day!
    I have some Brooks Farms that I got in Taos two years ago. I have started a Forest Canopy, but put it away to get older UFO’s completed. It is great yarn though.

  2. 2
    Rosemary Says:

    A clapotis!! This incarnation of it seems to be flying off of the needles šŸ™‚

  3. You really are flying on that clapotis!

    The yarn all looks so purdy.

  4. 4
    Carolyn Says:

    Yum!!! All those wonderful yarns! Looks like you had a great time šŸ™‚

  5. 5
    Linda Says:

    Sigh. Someday….

    So you are going to tell us about the “other stuff” you did too, right?

  6. 6
    katie Says:

    Yummy yummy! What a haul!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

