BEWARE……..of Yarn Pushers!!!

img_0924.jpg

This is Sandy.  You may recognize her from Gourmet Yarn.  Yes she is one sweet and kind lady.   But don’t let that sweetness fool you.  She is an evil yarn pusher.  Do you hear me?  Evil!!   Yes, Sandy will lead you down the road to temptation before you can blink an eye.   Why am I warning you about this nice and normally wonderful woman?   I have to backup just a bit to give you the foundation for this warning.   As many of you know, I went to Stitches East in Baltimore a few weeks ago with some good friends.   And being the good friends we are to each other we made sure everyone saw our “finds” so that all of us could obtain the same goodies.   Needless to say, I spent WAY more than I had planned that single day we spent at that event.   Shoot, I spent more than I planned on spending the entire day at the first vendor we visited!!  lol   But anyway, I came back to Norman vowing not to buy anymore yarn until after Christmas.   There is NOTHING I need bad enough to buy more yarn for a few months.   Last Sunday, I decided to drive into OKC to visit with Margaret and Nancy at Gourmet Yarn.   Nancy had just returned from California from a visit with her mother.   They had to evacuate because of the fires and I wanted to hear about it.   I had my list of errands and stops to make.   GY was #3 on the list and I had alloted myself an hour to visit.  Visit only.   I walk in and the gals are gathered around knitting.   Nancy is telling fire stories so I grab a seat and listen.   Pretty soon I notice Liz is knitting a pretty green item.   I inquire.   Sandy jumps in and tells me about the one Margaret wore the other day and how fun it was to knit.   Nancy hops up and goes into Margaret’s office to retrieve this wrap.   (They work in tandem…..that is allllllllllllll part of their game.)   She brings it out and drops it in my lap.   This is Nancy in the picture below.   She that big smile.   She’s hiding her evil yarn-enabling laugh behind that smile.   Watch her.

img_3226.jpg

Meanwhile Margaret is sitting on the sofa knitting acting all innocent like.   Listen to me when I say there is no innocent bone in her body!!  She has trained these gals well.   She sits back and lets them work their magic!!   So I fondle this 3 button wrap and inquire about the pattern.   The next thing I know Nancy is dragging me to the yarn.  TO THE YARN!!!  She grabs a skein of each color and tosses them on top of the counter.   She’s almost cocky now.   She knows I’ve nibbled the bait and it’s tasting good!!   I pick up a skein of Plymouth Royal Llama Silk and it’s wonderful.   I’ve been bitten!!

img_0925.jpg

The next thing I know this sweet “innocent” is behind the counter ringing me up.  $70 later I’m walking out of the door in a daze wondering what on earth happened to me.   I only came in to visit.   I had promised myself I would not buy any yarn.   I was feeling good, confident and in control.   HA!  So you are now officially warned.   These women are pure evil.   I’ve never met any better yarn pushers.   They are a well tuned machine.  So guard  your checkbooks, credit cards and cash….no matter  how many promises you make to yourself they will work together to make sure you cave.

img_0927.jpg

Tonight was the November Knit-In.   I thought it might be a slow night as I knew of several who were not able to attend.  (terri, carolyn, amanda, jan)   But we had a full house.   This little trio in the picture above wore their crowns with glee.   I wondered if they were that starved for attention??   Just kidding!!   Sherri and Jennifer knitted up these crowns and then made a special one for Margaret.  Please note hers is the crown for a jester.   😉   They know her well!!

img_0928.jpg

This is Brooke, Karen’s granddaughter from Louisiana.   Isn’t she cute?   She is learning to knit from the master.   Believe me, this young gal is her grandmother’s granddaughter thru and thru.

Well, that is all I have tonight.    As per usual, I’ve frogged my three button wrap two times and am starting on my third try.  Maybe this time…………

7 Comments »

  1. 1
    Shelly Says:

    Great pics!!!

    But, the BIG question is…..did you cave today, too???

    ; )

  2. 2
    Nancy Says:

    Hey! I resemble that remark! Sandy and I don’t write the checks. We don’t own the plastic purchases are made with. We just love the yarn like it was are own and we want to share all its wonderful wonders with Y-O-U! Every hank, skein and ball at the GYC is like my foster child for whom I am finding a great home. Don’t you love being a foster parent? LOL

  3. 3
    Emma Says:

    In defense of Sandy, I was in GYC on Friday, and she gave me excellent directions and did not try to push yarn on me. I guess she just knows you’re an easy target!

  4. 4
    Nancy Says:

    Ooops! You are NOT a foster parent. . .you, my friend, are an ADOPTIVE parent! Next time I’ll read my comment before I post!

  5. 5
    Linda Says:

    You *SO* nailed it. The only thing I haven’t seen them stoop to yet is the dreaded First Try Free. Just give them time…they’ll find a way….

  6. I have no room to talk. I walked out with the Llama Silk as well 😉

  7. 7
    mg Says:

    Hey, it was my day off! And the girls didn’t need any training at all. 😉 They were customers and in love with the yarn before they were employees. Admit it – your title even says it – you were already an addict. We’re just “Yarn Enablers”. lol


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

