Oklahoma Ice Storm 2007

 I cannot begin to tell you how thankful I am that I have power and Lexi and I are safe at home and warm.   After listening to our local weather people, I did put the car in the garage and I did plan on going to work late Monday morning.   At 4:45 the electricity went off and on and off and on and finally off.  It came back on around 8:30 or 9 AM.  We had power for 30 minutes and then it went off again for about 30 more minutes.   This was the story of Monday morning.   I opened all the blinds and made myself comfy on the sofa knitting with what natural light was available.   I got tired of moving from the sofa to my den and back to the sofa again.   lol   Finally around 1:30 the power came on and stayed on for the afternoon and early evening.   I took my cell and flashlight to bed with me in the event the power went off in the night.   Because I was prepared it did not go off.  lol   And I’m not complaining.   This morning I got up and got ready for work.   Headed in and was shocked at all the tree damage.   I noticed most traffic lights were out but the reduced amount of traffic managed fine with the 4-way stop signs.   Then I got to downtown Norman and my confirmation was seeing The Diner’s closed sign.   I knew then the electricity was out in downtown Norman.   So I came back home to snuggle with my Lexi.

I finished the knitting portion of the clapotis.  Yay!!    I wove in a few ends last night and spent alot of time pulling stitches to make the runs.   That is the only disappointment with using Noro Silk Garden.   The mohair keeps the stitches from running without help.   But it is soooo warm and soft and beautiful.   Pictures later when I have some decent light.

Here are some shots from yesterday morning.   Early and later in the day.   (Please excuse the pot with the tomato cage and dead tomato plant.   But it shows the ice accumulation nicely.)

img_0979.jpg img_0985.jpg

img-09822.jpg

img_0984.jpg

img_0980.jpg

img_0986.jpg

I didn’t notice this until I was taking the later shots but here is my neighbor’s basketball suspended in an ice net.

img_0987.jpg

And this is my sweet Lexi, safe and warm in the Kitty Kave.   All is well.

img_0989.jpg

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Michelle Says:

    Glad to hear you are safe and warm. We dodged the ice here, but my daughter in Joplin has had no power for the last two days.

  2. 2
    emily Says:

    We lost power for 12 hours, but still, we are lucky. I need to put together my own blog post on our adventures. Many of the trees are down at the church.

  3. 3
    Carolyn Says:

    Glad you are safe and warm with no extended power outages!! We have stayed safe and warm up here in our neighborhood too, Praise the Lord!

  4. 4
    Linda Says:

    Glad you’re safe and warm. And Miss Lexi of course!

  5. 5
    anita Says:

    Out electric has been out since 4:00am Monday morning and sometime Monday evening a tree fell in the back yard and ripped the meter off our house so I’m waiting on an electrician to come and re-attach it so when OG&E finally gets us back up and running I’ll have electricity. I’m not having any fun here. We slept pretty warm last night (3 quilts are heavy–you’ve got to plan ahead to roll over!) but getting up and getting ready for work this morning was hard!!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

