Merry Christmas!!

I’m sitting here in chilly Colorado Springs at my sister’s house typing this blog post on a very cool Mac laptop.  I’m still a PC fan but this is rather fun for a brief change.The trip here started out rather rocky.  The snow and ice delayed our departure and we didn’t leave until 10:30 Sunday morning.  I needed to run by the ATM to get some cash and because I rarely use my ATM card, after the second try, the machine ate and kept my card.  Needless to say I was not happy.   We decide to head on down the road and on I-40 another vehicle threw small rock into my windshield and now I have this tiny crack to get repaired.  We made it to Amarillo and over to the Texas Panhandle before dark but had to travel that 70-90 miles of two lane in the desolate stretch in the dark.  As it just so happens it was a full moon and it was gorgeous.  It lit up the sky like a big night light.  Once we got to the mountainous section the moon lit up the snow.   It was pretty cool.  I did notice the moon had some star or possibly a planet that appeared next to it.  Do any astronomers out there know what I was seeing?   I took a couple of pictures but my camera isn’t the best for shooting a picture like that.  We had our Christmas yesterday morning, well, the present part anyway.   I got three new knitting books!  Yay!  New Pathways for Sock Knitters by Cat Bohrdi, The Best of Interweave Knits, and The Yarn Book by Clara Parkes.  I can’t wait to try some of these sock methods.  By the way, the Clapotis is finished!!  Born in Baltimore, Maryland, raised in Oklahoma, and came to life in Texas.   What a history!   lol  I pulled all those stitches and wove in the last ends just before we hit New Mexico.  My sister and oldest niece have been eyeing it.   It goes very nicely with my sister’s furniture and my niece just flat loves it.   Sorry!!  I’m keeping this one for myself.  I started the Bunny Tail by Susan B. Anderson Friday.   I worked on it in the car also and have one ear complete.   I don’t have much yarn left, it only called for one skein.  I sure do hope I can finish this 2nd ear with what’s left.   It has a very nice feel.   I used the called for RYC Cashsoft Baby in a pale pink.   It’s going to be very cute and I’m knitting it for a co-worker who is due to give birth to a baby girl later in January.  I’ve posted pictures before of my nephew dog, Chance.   He is such a sweet boy.   It was really a surprise to me to see when I got here that he is having some aging issues.    He has been such a big part of my sister’s family that is hurts to think of him not being here.  Well, that is all I have for now.  Tomorrow is yarn shop day!!!!!!!!!  Yippee!!!   I’m excited although I can’t say anyone else is.   :-)I hope all of you are having a very Merry Christmas.    

5 Comments »

  1. 1
    Shelly Says:

    Merry Christmas!!!

    Enjoy yarn shop day! Travel home safely…more weather is headed our way.

  2. 2
    Linda Says:

    Merry Christmas! That Cat book is awesome!

  3. 3
    Terri Says:

    The star you saw was actually the planet MARS! I didn’t see it there tonight but read about it in the paper the other day. Enjoy your yarn shop hopping trip.

  4. 4
    emily Says:

    Glad you’re safe! Thanks for the comment on my blog, too.

    Have a fabulous time up north! Wear the handknits and enjoy.

  5. 5
    Carolyn Says:

    Glad you made it there safe and sound…be sure and do the same on the way home :-). Will be waiting for that yarn store report!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

