Knitting: Obsession or Addiction?

This is the definition of obsession per the Merriam-Webster Dictionary:
1: a persistent disturbing preoccupation with an often unreasonable idea or feeling; broadly : compelling motivation <an obsession with profits>2: something that causes an obsession
And this is the definition of addiction:
1: the quality or state of being addicted <addiction to reading>2: compulsive need for and use of a habit-forming substance (as heroin, nicotine, or alcohol) characterized by tolerance and by well-defined physiological symptoms upon withdrawal; broadly : persistent compulsive use of a substance known by the user to be harmful
Knitting is certainly a persistent preoccupation but I disagree that it is disturbing or unreasonable.   It is a compelling motivation in that it makes me want to knit more.
I do have a compulsive need to dip my hands into yarn, to grasp the needles and start the rhythmic movements.  The bigger question is this:  Is knitting habit forming?   Hmmm…I think it is definitely a habit.   And I do get antsy when I can’t knit or go hours or days without knitting.   So that could be a symptom of withdrawal.  Is it harmful to me?   It might be harmful to my bank account.   It could be harmful to my living space if I don’t stop buying yarn.   lol
Which do you claim?   Obsession or addiction?
I think I claimed mine when I started this blog.  It’s an addiction.
6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Linda Says:

    Addiction! Some days I think borderline obsession for me…

  2. 2
    anita Says:

    I think addition is probably right. At least it isn’t harmful to my body (not counting lack of exercise) or anyone else. If’ll notice my blog name ( readknitsingclog.blogspot.com ) all of these are addictions that sort of rotate. I’ll admit I do get kind of worried when I keep buying yarn that doesn’t get knitted due to a short attention span! oh well, it could be worse

  3. 3
    MG Says:

    Hey, you left out the possibility of Dual Diagnosis! One can be Axis I and the other can be Axis II. So you don’t have to choose!

  4. 4
    Carolyn Says:

    Yep….Dual Diagnosis….that’s mine for sure 🙂

  5. 5
    Terri Says:

    hmmm…. I’m thinking more like a obsessive compulsive disorder. HA!

  6. 6
    Marjie Says:

    I don’t have time to comment, I’m too busy knitting, buying, stashing or thinking about all of the above..


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

