Yarn Dreams

Do you ever dream of yarn?   I do, in a way.   It is probably more of daydream only I do it as I’m trying to drift off to sleep at night.   I think of projects I want to knit and think of what yarn I want to use.  Sometimes I am trying to crowd out those negative images and thoughts that swoop in when I’m trying to go to sleep and I visualize beautiful yarns.

The other night I visualized a yummy shimmery yarn of chocolate browns with a medium aqua almost turquoise blue.  The image had a shiny twisty look to the strands so I am thinking silk or maybe a rayon.   I know it would have a nice soft drape.   I don’t recall ever seeing this yarn so I am guessing it is my “dream”  yarn for now.   lol   Who knows?  I might find it tomorrow!

I’ve also got another project haunting my head.   You’ve seen the pictures of my clapotis.   I used Noro’s Silk Garden and I do love my clappy.   In fact, I’ve used it alot with these frigid temps.   I like to wrap it around my neck and throw it back over my shoulders before I put on my coat.   The problem is I made it longer to use as a wrap and I really don’t like the mohair up around my neck and face.   I love it best as a wrap around my shoulders.   But since it keeps my neck and upper chest so warm I think I need another to use as a scarf.   I’ve come to realize that I don’t like bulky heavy scarves.   Remember my Irish Hiking Scarf I knitted out of Jo Sharp Silkroad Aran?   Love the yarn but my scarf is too thick, too bulky and I don’t use it because of that.   So with all those “issues” in mind, I’m thinking of knitting the next one out of Lorna’s Laces.   I don’t want to shell out $120+ for the Lion and Lamb the original pattern calls for so I think I’ll use the Shepherd Worsted.   It will be half the cost and I’ll still have those yummy colors Lorna’s Laces is so famous for.   I’ve seen several clapotis’ on Ravelry knitted with this yarn and they are beautiful.   I think it will give me a softer scarf to wrap around my neck.

In the meantime, I’m going to continue my yarn dreams…..they are wonderful.

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carolyn Says:

    Funny how we do that….think if specific things as we drift off to sleep. I do the yarn one now and then, but sometimes I get so enthused about it I can’t go to sleep to save my life..lol! It would be nice to have a knob up there to just turn it all off wouldn’t it?

  2. 2
    emily Says:

    I’ve been playing with Log Cabins and yarn in my stash as I drift off to sleep. So much fun!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

