Stash Enhancement

Yarn Stores visited this week: 3

Skeins of yarn purchased: 5

Amount spent: NOYB

Ok, this is getting serious. I’ve got to start putting out some knitted goods or I’m going to embarrass myself greatly. I’m still plugging along on Cavendish in the Mission Falls Cotton Whirl. It is a project I can take and knit in public and not have to give it much thought which translates to I can knit and talk at the same time without making serious mistakes.

I did start a new project this week. (And no, I will NEVER publicly admit to how many WIP’s I have so don’t even go there.) Let me back up to tell you this purchase originates back to a post by Wendy. I fell in love with the yarn she was knitting with and knew I had to have it. Fast forward to last week and learning L & B had a new shipment of Dream In Color Smooshy arriving at any day and I had my game plan. I ran over on my lunch time Friday and knew I’d get a skein of Blue Lagoon but then I also saw Flamingo Pie and Butter Peeps. After laying out all 3 skeins I walked away with Blue Lagoon and Flamingo Pie as seen below:

img_1139.jpg img_1146.jpg

(Sorry, startitis was soooo bad I didn’t get a picture of the skein before I had it wound into a yarn cake. What can I say?) If you’ve never knitted with this yarn you need to. It is soooo soft and has the best spring of any yarn I’ve dipped needles into. I love the near solid colors of these 2 skeins.

Blue Lagoon is being knitted into a Woodland Shawl which is a pattern found on Ravelry (claro que si) and is from the Thrifty Knitter website. It is not like Cavendish as it is a project that will be knitted on only in the solitude of my own home where I can concentrate and NOT talk. lol

I bought Flamingo Pie because this yarn goes fast. I’ve been told women have driven in from out of state to buy Dream in Color since L & B is the only shop in this area of the country to carry it! Needless to say it goes very fast so I had to grab it because I had to have it. lol As of today, it may become a pair of socks. Time will tell.

Earlier in the week I stopped by The Woolie Ewe in Plano. That shop is so different (by the way of stock) each time I visit that I have to browse for a long time to make sure I see everything and make an appropriate choice. This time I noticed they were carrying several lines I had not seen in the store before. I think that is the key to why I keep stopping there.  Anyway, I managed to restrain myself and walked out with only one skein of Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn.

img_1147.jpg

The very next day Clara of Knitter’s Review sent out her review of this yarn. Darn it, if only I had seen it before. Oh well, I won’t waste time knitting socks from this yarn after reading that review. But, I will use it for a scarf or something that doesn’t get so much abuse such as socks.

I fell in love with Modern Quilt Wrap several months ago but had sworn off Kidsilk Haze two years ago after a very snarling, tangley time spent with a couple of skeins of Marmalade. I searched on Ravelry and found a couple of alternatives that appealed to me. But last weekend while at the knit-in at Gourmet Yarn I saw Carolyn’s WIP in Rowan’s Kidsilk Haze. It haunted me as to how gossamer sheer it was and how beautiful it looked. The seed was planted and I’ve talked myself into trying Kidsilk Haze one more time. Because the yarn is rather pricey (to me) I’ll be buying a couple of skeins at a time over the course of a few weeks. But yesterday, while at Gourmet Yarn, these two skeins jumped into my hands:

img_1150.jpg img_1152.jpg

Two tips I have learned since my first try at Kidsilk Haze is:

Forget the center ball pull. Work from the outside so the yarn doesn’t felt onto itself.

Mohair supposedly is tangle free when put into the freezer for a bit. I haven’t tested this but I will certainly try it if I run into tangle problems.

So that is the weekly knitting report. I hope your weekend is filled with yarn fun and knitting time with good friends. I know mine has been!

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Marjie Says:

    Soooooooo…this is the person who LOVES the game, “Who spent the most on yarn?”, and unabashedly puts NOYB on how much she spent on yarn. Hmmmm, methinks that she just might be the winner this week!! LOL

  2. 2
    Shelly Says:

    Hmmmm…..if you’re starting a trend in posting every single yarn purchase, I might not be willing to play along! ; )

    Although my yarn consumption has slowed lately, if we list everything we like….then we can really get a contest going!

  3. 3
    Carolyn Says:

    What yummy, yummy yarny purchases!! I think you will really enjoy that Log Cabin Wrap once you start it. I found it a little tricky at first, but when I got going it’s really fun to do!

  4. 4
    Linda Says:

    So glad I’m not the only one who falls off the wagon…

    I love The Woolie Ewe too, although I was pretty miffed the time I called them to see if they carried a particular yarn and they told me they did. After I drove down from OKC – they didn’t. And they just didn’t think it was a big deal.

    But I still left there with lots o’ stuff!

  5. 5
    anita Says:

    One of these days I’m going to get to the Woolie Ewe. I did visit Yarniverse and Memphis a couple years ago and that was fun. They have lots also. I’m kind of with Margie on the NYOB business! Ya know, I figure if I can afford it and it isn’t hurting anybody, then why not buy it? First I pay my bills, then I buy food then YARN! But I understand about the finished objects out-put. (would that a FOO or FOOP?)

  6. 6
    guthriegirl Says:

    I have been to The Woolie Ewe too- (used to live in Ft. Worth area and it was a trek even from there.) It’s a large yarn shop- I was almost overwhelmed the first time I went there.
    I was inspired by Carolyn’s Modern Quilt Wrap too- it’s now in my queue. You are right…gossamer is the perfect word. Lovely!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

