Happy Birthday Lexi!!!

Nine years ago (July 25th) I was sound asleep on a Sunday morning. I woke up to the sound of a baby crying. I lived in a condominium complex then and no one in my section of the building had small children let alone a baby. Then I heard a male voice talking in a coaxing manner. I got up to peek out the window. Before I could get there I realized that wasn’t a baby but a young cat or kitten. I peeked out the blinds and saw my neighbor “shooing” something small up the steps to my front door. Whatever it was….it was so small the individual steps were blocking it from my view. I pulled on some clothes and went to look out the living room window only to see this neighbor and his mother pulling out of the parking lot, almost like two thieves in the night. lol I could still hear the kitten meowing it’s little head off. I open the door and found nothing but realize it had moved on up to the next floor. I walked up to the steps and found the most adorable kitten. Grey stripes with white paws and a white bib with great big green eyes. She was meowing so loud and her mouth was opening as big as her head. I scooped her up and she stopped meowing and started purring immediately. I started talking to her asking where she came from as if she could answer. lol I took her into my house and into my heart right there. I put her down and she immediately started investigating. I went to the storage closet and dug out the cat box I’d put up a few months earlier. I then realized I had no litter and no food. So I let her nose around while I took a shower and got dressed. Then I put her in the carrier I had and let her sleep while I went to the store. I came back with food and litter and she was sound asleep in that carrier. I opened the door to let her out and the little girl went to her box, did her business and then moved on to the food bowl. I had already checked and realized she was a little girl and tried to see if she had any fleas. No evidence in the ole paw pits. So I decided she would have to have a bath and got everything ready. She wasn’t crazy about the bath but she didn’t fight me too much. When I picked her up to dry her off I saw black dots sprinkled all over her white parts. While I was drying her off she fell asleep in my arms just like a baby. Melted my heart. I called *etSmart to see if a vet was on duty on Sunday and there was. Took her in to get her checked out. The vet guestimated she was maybe seven weeks old. Gave her some shots, some flea medication, some worm medication and asked if they could take her picture for their counter. She was THAT cute. After that visit I counted back seven weeks and decided June 1st would be a great birthday for her. I asked that neighbor two different times over the next year as to where she came from. He denied knowing anything about her. To this day I think his mother brought that kitten to him (he was an old curmudgeon of a bachelor) and he wasn’t about to take in a kitten. He knew the cat he used to see in my window every morning was no longer there. So I think he made sure that kitten was found on my doorstep. And for that I’ll always have a soft spot in my heart. Anyway, here is she is nine years later in all her glory.

Happy Birthday Lexi!!!

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Marjie Says:

    Happy Birthday Miss Lexi!! You’re a beautiful baby still!!

  2. 2
    Linda Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  3. 3
    Carolyn Says:

    What a neat story! Little did she know how lucky she was that day when she was shooed toward your door!

  4. 4

    Happy Birthday Lexi!! I loved hearing how you “found” each other!

  5. 5
    katie Says:

    Happy Birthday Lexi! Did you get any yarn?

  6. 6
    emily Says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Lexi!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

