July Update

It sure is getting hot outside. All the more reason for me to stay inside and knit. I’ve got some stitches under my belt this month. I started and am making very nice headway on the Siren Shawl:

This is a pattern I found via Ravelry from Knit Simple 2007. I’m using Classic Elite Classic Silk which is cotton, silk and nylon. I can’t explain the feel because it isn’t silky but it sure does feel nice. I bought 8 skeins hoping I’d get 6-8 inches per skein. I got 11 inches from one skein! Yay!!

I had a revelation the other day. I have several lace projects on the needles and I LIKE it. I think the key to me liking lacework is not to use laceweight yarn. lol Maybe some day…..

Another project I started recently is this:

It’s the Baby Soft Cardigan by Jennifer Hagan. I’m using Araucania Natural Cotton. This cotton yarn is SOFT! I never thought I’d knit with a thick/thin yarn but I am. I don’t even notice it with this soft cotton. It has some color variations where some has more yellow in it to make a brighter green. As you can see I haven’t gotten very far but it’s on the way.

I work on Cavendish at work only. It’s nice mindless knitting that I can do while trapped in weekly meetings. Ugh.

I took my clapotis I’m knitting out of Fiesta Ballet to Gourmet Yarn a weekend or two ago and prompted Marjie and Ellen to buy enough Ballet to make a clapotis. Yay!! I took my clapotis knitted in Noro Silk Garden to L & B to try and convince Leslie it was soft. I left it there as she was away for a few days. Amanda told me later that my clapotis inspired two other people to buy yarn for a clapotis. 🙂

Remember that ‘red streak’ I went thru while on the Colorado trip? I think it’s over. You see the colors of the two projects above. Well in addition to those this is what I’ve added to my stash in the past couple of weeks:

I guess I’m in a blue phase. Que bueno!

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Miss 376 Says:

    The Siren Shawl is looking good. Love the colour variations in some of that yarn you have bought. Be lovely to see how it knits up

  2. 2
    Carolyn Says:

    I’ve been eyeing that shawl myself! Love the way yours is working up. Isn’t it funny how our color tastes change? I seem to be drawn to purples lately.

  3. I’m getting the urge to knit again.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

