Malabrigo Mmmmmmm

 

img_13821

I saw this scarf on another blog.   The blogger knitted it in Malabrigo worsted weight in a cream color.  It looked so classy.   I knew I had two skeins of this Malabrigo American Beauty in my stash.   It was so fun to go stash diving!   Anyway, I started this last night.   I entertained the notion of having it finished by Christmas day but then reality set in.   I have two more work days, Christmas shopping to complete, a house to clean, brandied cranberries to cook, pies to bake and a ham, so how much time does that leave for knitting??  Not much.   My mother loves red and she is in that stage of her life where she is always cold.   This in and of itself is unreal!   My mother has always been hot natured with a bead of sweat above her lip .   (This is mostly when she’s been running in circles working, cleaning etc.)   Anyway, I bought her some long undies so she can layer under her clothing.   I thought this scarf would keep her warm and if I can find some red gloves that would be perfect!

Back to the knitting, I love this pattern.   It was published in the Fall 2007 issue of Interweave magazine.   I just happened to have it.   Once you get past the ribbing, its a simple 4 line repeat.   You can memorize it in 4 rows, it is that easy.   The scarf is called The Elfin Scarf and it is 42 inches long which the blogger called  a muffler.   What is the difference between a scarf and a muffler?   Is it length?   If anyone knows please tell us in the comment section.  

This Malabrigo is truly soft.   No one exaggerated when they said that.  It is easy to split with your needles so that is one drawback but I just pay attention to make sure I don’t.   I love this color.   It isn’t a true blue red and isn’t primary bright.   It has a subtle fade to it that does remind me of a flower.  

Just for the record, this is some yarn I bought while on our trip to Colorado and I got it at the Colorful Yarn shop in Littleton.   It is a a small shop in a business office building that is cram packed with all types of gorgeous yarns.   Very well worth a stop if you are in that area.   I don’t recall the exact nature of the Oklahoma connection but the mother of the owner was working the day we were in and there is an Oklahoma connection.   We ran into several shop owners with Oklahoma connections that trip.   lol 

Ok, time to get busy and Lexi is pawing at me wanting me to play.   Hope everyone is staying warm!

2 Comments »

  1. 1
    Linda Says:

    Very pretty!

  2. 2
    Vanessa Says:

    Hey Kay…great scarf! I love the pattern.

    I hope you have a Merry Christmas!

    Vanessa


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

