Wackiness

I bet you didn’t know that I had a grandmother still living….that is until Saturday.   She was 91 years old and had not been able to talk for a few years.   The last time I saw her she had already had a stroke or two.   I was warned that she might not be able to say much.   I remember sitting in her room at the nursing home and trying to make conversation.   I felt pretty sure she knew what was going on so I asked her if she knew who I was.    She shook her head yes but didn’t say a word.   My mother went on talking and pretty soon my grandmother turned to me and managed to say the word ‘granddaughter’.   I had to smile and say yes I was.   I was her first grandchild.

I’ve always known I was the oldest daughter of the oldest daughter of the oldest daughter.    Today I found out I was the oldest daughter of the oldest daughter of the oldest daughter of the oldest daughter of the oldest daughter!   Whew!!!   Now I know my bossiness comes from a long line of DNA.   🙂

Now for the wacky part.   My grandmother and grandfather were from deep West Texas.   When my mother was in high school they moved from Texas following my great grandparents to Huntsville, Arkansas.   My grandfather died shortly after they moved there and was buried there until 10-12 years ago.   My grandmother remarried a year or so after he passed away.   Ten to twelve years ago after a bad spat, my grandmother called my mother and begged her to promise  that she’d bury her (my grandmother) next to her first husband, my natural grandfather.   My mother promised.   Well, grandma also wanted to be buried in West Texas.   Hmmmmmmm.   So my mother and her brother contacted the appropriate authorities in Arkansas and Texas, had my grandfather dis-interred (Lordy, I hope I spelled that right).   My folks then drove to Arkansas and picked up the new casket with my grandfather’s remains ( which were considerably less than in 1955).   They drove back to Oklahoma and waited until the next weekend and then drove to West Texas where a new grave was opened and buried my grandfather back in his native land.   Just in case you had not figured it out yet, my grandparents never had much money.   So with that in mind, this is the last of the wackiness, my uncle is going to rent a U-Haul and drive my grandmother’s casket from Kansas to deep West Texas.   My mother had the headstone prepared here in Oklahoma and we’ll be taking the headstone to the funeral.   I don’t know if I have ever heard a more wacky story.   Have you?

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    theresa Says:

    I’m sorry about the loss of your grandmother. It’s family. Wacky is part of the definition. My prayers are with you and your family.

  2. 2
    Arlene Says:

    My grandmothers were very special to me. They have been gone a long time and I still miss them. However I do have many happy memories and those will never leave me. So hold on to those precious memories, they will carry you during difficult times. My sincere sympathy to you and your family.

    Arlene

  3. 3
    Anita Says:

    I’m so sorry for the loss of your grandmother. Both of mine lived until I was in my 30’s so my kids got an opportunity to know them and that made me very happy.

  4. 4
    emily Says:

    So sorry to hear about losing your grandmother.

    And yes, wacky makes for great conversation. How dull our lives would be if our families were all normal!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

