What do you think?

The Blooming Cotton Scarf in Interweave’s Spring 2009 issue caught my attention.   I received an email today from Knitting Daily that discussed the process Eunny Jang used.   It was not stranded nor intarsia but simply a slip stitch technique!   How cool is that?   Anyway, although the color choices are striking and they gave 3 other color choices, I knew none of those were exactly what I wanted.   So this morning it occurred to me that I have a bin full of Mission Falls Cotton and that surely out of all that Mission Falls I could come up with a seven color combo that would be striking to the eye.   This is what I came up with:

Mission Falls Cotton

Mission Falls Cotton

Oh I didn’t find all seven colors in the stash.   I did have four of the above but I ran up to L & B while out running errands and grabbed the darker green, the lavender and the pink.   Yeah I know….I don’t like pink but I think in this instance it is necessary.   So now to cast on 300+ stitches.   Ugh!  Wish me luck.

Oh I did finish the knitting on the fez.   That was truly an enjoyable knit and I gained more confidence in knitting continental style.   I need to finish the braids and tassels and attach and it is complete!

The Tasseled Fez in Hats On!

The Tasseled Fez in Hats On!

I spent $70 today I had not planned on spending.   Lexi’s water fountain bit the dust.   I have replaced the pump once on this fountain.   I am disgusted by all the nooks and crannies on this thing that I can’t clean with a brush or washcloth.   So with that in mind, I knew I was going water fountain shopping today.    I bought the Drinkwell Platinum fountain for my kitty.    It is a bit different than the old fountain.   Water flows free from a spout down to a ramp/slide in the bowl.   The old fountain had the water spilling down a slide/ramp into the bowl.   That is where Lexi would drink, on the ramp.   On this model if she drinks on the ramp her head is going to take a shower.  lol   So she has to figure out how she wants to approach this.   So far all I’ve seen is her batting at the water stream and sniffing it all around trying to check it out.   She’ll come around eventually but in the meantime:

Lexi checking out the waterflow.

Lexi checking out the waterflow.

4 Comments »

  1. 1
    Chris Says:

    So cute! At first I couldn’t figure out why you had a water fountain for your kid!

  2. 2
    Carolyn Says:

    That pic is priceless!!

  3. 3
    Michelle Says:

    I love the hat. I have recently tried stranded knitting, so I appreciate the work.

    Impressed with the fountain also, but my four are just going to have to live with a bowl.

  4. 4
    Arlene Says:

    The hat is impressive!!!!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

