Wednesday Update

I came back with an allergy attack.   I hate this stuff but other than making me tired it isn’t as bad as some.

I was relating some of our stories from the trip yesterday at work.   My co-worker said Marjie and I were like Thelma and Louise and that we were road warriors!   lol   I had never thought of it before and I certainly have no intention of driving off a cliff….but if I could meet up with Brad Pitt….oh wait…this is a knitting blog.   😉

I’ve mentioned the Andrea Reversible several times and never do include a picture update.   Well no more!   Here it is:

Andrea Revisible Scarf out of Helen's Lace

Andrea Revisible Scarf out of Helen's Lace

I’ve completed over 21 repeats.   The pattern calls for 31 repeats.   I think I’ll knit until I’m about out of yarn.   I know blocking will really lengthen this but it isn’t anywhere near as long as I’d like it.   See that lifeline?   There are actually two, one can’t be seen as clearly.   I tried Karen’s idea of using the Knit Picks cable as one but it really annoyed me to no end so I pulled it out while on the trip.   When we were on our way back from St. Louis in February I had a mistake I could not seem to correct.   My last lifeline was over 3 inches back.   Ugh.   Yes, I had to frog all that way back.   I put this project in time out and only pulled it out upon occassion.   I am happy to say that while in Atlanta I made it to the “St. Louis” point and am proceeding forward!  Yay!!!

The trip.   On the way down we had plans to stop at yarn shops in Memphis and Birmingham.    Thank God we did.   Both trips to yarn shops (unbeknownst to us but realized on the way back) kept us from some yucky portions of congested highway.   It also allowed us to see the most glorious view of downtown Birmingham.   My gosh!!  I couldn’t believe how hilly it was and so lush and beautiful!   I think I could live there.   After stops at three yarn shops I had the only purchase between the two of us.    This is what I bought:

Dawn Silk

Dawn Silk

I also got this:

Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool

Elsbeth Lavold Silky Wool

I love olive green and the shop had a cute fan and feather scarf knitted out of this yarn.

Something we noticed:   most of the shops had very little wool.   Hmmm could that be because their climates are warmer, more humid?   That would be my guess.  But still a bit of a surprise.   People do like to knit felted bags etc.

One of the lines we were hoping to find was a great selection of Blue Sky Alapaca – Sport Weight and Silk and Alpaca.   None were to be found at the three stops before Stitches South.   The next day we looked all over Stitches South and only found the Dyed Cotton.

Friday evening I was surfing the Atlanta shops on Ravelry only to find that Knitch would be open late in celebration of Stitches South!   Yay!!  I called to confirm as it was 7:30 then, they were open until 9.   Got some better information on location and parking and off we went.   This shop is in a very trendy section of midtown Atlanta.   It is POPULAR!!   We found it via GPS but pulled into the alley I was told about.   There were bars and restaurants all over the place and being Friday night everything was hopping.   We made two circles before we lucked out and saw someone leaving.   We grabbed that close spot and made our way to the cutest shop!    The entrance is in the alley but once you walk in you forget that.   Two floors with great eye appeal!   They are also one of the few shops that carries Socks that Rock yarn.   They had both Blue Sky Alpaca and Silk and the Sport Weight but none of the colors I was interested in.   The ladies were very nice and helpful.   There was so much yarn to drool over and Amy Butler fabrics.   But this is all I left with:

Socks that Rock Heavyweight Lettuce Knit

Socks that Rock Heavyweight Lettuce Knit

The next day was a free day for us.   We had some addresses for yarn shops and Trader Joes.   Out of three yarn shop addresses only one was good.   We made it to Needle Nook which is owned and run by a lovely lady named Arlene.   She’s had this shop for over 30 years.   It’s long and narrow but believe me every bit of space is crammed with yarn!    Arlene was a joy to visit with.    There was a lady who worked there whose name I didn’t get who was very nice.   There was also a customer in the shop who chimed in (as knitters do) who was very sweet to us.   And I just realized I didn’t get a picture of the yarn I bought there.   Grrrrrr   oh well….I’ll show it later.

A comment about both of the Atlanta shops:   The ladies that worked in these shops were all very kind and helpful.   But this is what tickled us most,  Knitch gave us a 15% discount by showing our Stitches ticket!!!   And Needle Nook gave us a 10% discount just because we were out of town visitors!    We had a similar thing with Knitorious in St. Louis.   That type of kindness really amazes me.   When I’m in the area I’ll be sure to return!   Also Arlene gave us each this wallet card that has some very useful knitting info that we always forget while shopping!!  Or at least I do….and now I have it safely tucked into my wallet.   Yay!

Well this post is long enough.    I’ll do another one later on the yarns found at Stitches.   I have to say, this is the best Stitches trip (to me) so far.   I’ll definitely go back.

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Vanessa Says:

    Hi Kay!

    I just wanted to say THANK YOU for bringing your yarn to show! You bought some really beautiful yarn. I can’t wait until you start working with some of the yarn to see what you make with the different types of yarn! I LOVE the colors you chose. It was like getting a private showing of all the new yarns that are on the market now!

    Vanessa

  2. 2
    Chris Says:

    Agreed. One of my friends will only go to Midwest, not Atlanta again. I never want to go back to Midwest, Atlanta is find with me. Now to get more advanced classes there and all will be well with me.

  3. 3
    Carolyn Says:

    What a fantastic sounding trip!! I know the Knitting Nook…I did some damage in there last September when we went through there on our way to S. Carolina. Now you’ve really got my wanting to plan on the next Atlanta one! Did you notice all the kudzu vine down there? Weird isn’t it?


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

