Merry Christmas!

I know…two posts in two days…can you tell I can’t get out?   lol

When I came home Wednesday evening I put the car in the garage and was prepared to stay in all day Thursday.   As with most of us, I didn’t dream it would get this bad.  14 inches of snow!!!????   I used to experience 8 or 9 or even 11 inches of snow in Tulsa but those types of snows came in February or March never in December.   Anyway, since I can’t get out to see anymore than what is out my doors….here is what I see: 

The drift out my front door……this is before the sun did some work on it although it is still there…just not so close to my door.  

As of right now only the pickup is left in the intersection.   The white car was moved some time this afternoon and then the black car disappeared before sundown.   I opened the garage door and threw some salt on the driveway….the part that was slick ice.   Funny about half was covered by thick ice and the other part is covered in snow drift.   I noticed also that the snow in the street is curb high.   Once the sun came out you could see more of what happened.   The wind blew the snow into a deep drift right down the street and I guess the intersection is lower so with the build up of ice and then the drifting snow that is why the cars couldn’t drive through.  

I was in an organizational mood today.   With that in mind, I decided to tackle my stash.  Oh My God.   What have I done?   A couple of years ago I could dump it all on the sofa.  Not anymore.   I need to organize it and grouping it by fiber was not the best method.   I know by visiting yarn shops that have their yarn displayed by color… that is not good.   So then I realized if I am ever going to knit from my stash I need to know organize by weight.  I started around 11 this morning and ran out of steam around 5.   The sad thing is I only got to half of it.    I am embarrassed that I have two larger bins of fingering weight yarn and there is much more.   I have two larger bins of worsted weight and there is much more of that also.   I was surprised that I’ve filled two regular bins with aran weight.   I didn’t think I had that much.   Oh well…this is what reorganizing your stash does….screams at you that YOU HAVE TOO MUCH YARN!!!!!!!!!!  Sigh.   

My first inclination is to state I will NOT buy any yarn in the coming year.  Ha ha ha.  I know better than to make an all or nothing statement like that.   I can say that this past year I did not buy yarn as much as I did in 2007.   I did make two trips to The Loopy Ewe though…..I think I could fill a couple of bins from those trips alone.   lol   Oh and Marjie and I did go to Stitches South….so there is quite a bit of yarn from that trip also.   Hmmmm ok so I bought a lot of yarn in 2008  also.   Sigh. 

Ok, I can make this statement.   In 2010 I am going to knit more from my stash.  Ok!   I feel like I made some progress.    🙂

I  have a scarf I started on the way home from the February St. Louis trip.   I am going to finish that tonight.   No pictures as of yet.   Don’t know why but I never have taken one.   It’s a semi solid Koigu and a coordinating variegated Koigu garter stitch scarf knitted lengthwise.  I saw it knitted up in one of yarn shops we visited in St. Louis.   It was so simple but so nice looking that I had to knit it.   As is with most of my projects it got set aside while I jumped into something else.  So that was another task I did today as I sorted through yarn.   I reclaimed needles!   lol   I believe I frogged 3 or 4 WIP’s that I no longer have any interest in.   I did run across my striped stocking cap I started a year ago and fell in love with it all over again.   I will finish that. 

Oh that reminds me.   When serving oneself crow…..is it better with salt and pepper or with A-1?    I have to confess to a couple of my friends that I found something I thought they had.   I discovered those items when I was sifting through yarn today.  Maybe I’ll just admit it here and see how long it takes them to find out.   I found fish stitch markers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   lol  For months I thought Karen and Terri still had those markers.   I loaned the markers to them during a knitting class.   I’ve made digs at them for months now that my fish stitch markers are still missing.   Oh well…..don’t tell them….let’s see if they still read this blog.  🙂  

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Michelle Says:

    Fourteen inches?? Wow! We only had a couple of inches, but we also had the 40 – 50 mph wind.

    Sounds like you are getting organized. I took pictures of my yarn over a year ago to post on ravelry, thinking that would help me organize. Never got any further with the pictures. Oh well. 🙂

    Hope you have a good holiday.

  2. 2
    Chris Says:

    If I knew them, I would go and tell them. But since I don’t you are safe.

    Glad the snow is in your backyard and not mine. We had enough rain over the holidays to have made a very bad snow fall. I am not usually glad for rain, but it beats snow drifts!

    Hope you get sprung soon!

  3. 3
    Terri Says:

    YES I still read your blog! Would you believe that I found the sack of yarn from that class and ALMOST started looking for those damn fish markers again. I stopped and said NO- I’ve looked and I don’t have them. I let it go. ha You know the winds have turned on this one don’t you?

    Did you ever find the Clapotis?


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

