Snowed In

This is day 4 of being snowed in.   My driveway is 3/4 clear but the part that isn’t is a deep drift.   I put on boots and took the broom hoping to clear a path on my front sidewalk so I can get to the driveway.  Ha!   The snow is no longer soft enough for a broom.   (I do not own a shovel.  lol)  I did however walk on the snow enough that I think I can get out tomorrow morning.   Just in time to go to work.  Ugh.  

It feels weird not having a Christmas.   The plan is to have it next weekend but we’ll see.   I heard we may have more snow by the middle of this week.  Ugh again.  

So what have I been doing?   Lots of knitting, an attempt to organize the stash, bunches of laundry and cooking.   Oh and I did wrap some presents.   I also slept in this morning…more so than usual.  I slept until 10:30!   That is a new record for me.   All I can say is I must have needed that sleep.  

When I lay down to sleep at night is when some of my most creative thoughts come to me.   Mostly it is colors of yarn but the other night I had a great thought of how to contain my stash.   The bin idea is fine if you only have 10 or less bins.   Unfortunately or fortunately (however you wish to see that  lol) I have waaaaaaaay more than 10 bins.   I did not buy the super duper big bins as I had no way to store those.   Instead I bought the bins that hold 17 qts and 27 qts.   It was a lot of fun saying I’d put up 17 qts of yarn.   But now that is a chore.   When I ‘put up’ 54 qts of fingering weight yarn by going through half my stash I realized my current system was not going to work.  I don’t have enough storage space to hold that many bins.   Plus I have a bookshelf at the back of my stash closet and I can’t get to it because of all the bins stacked in front of it.   So my creative thought that ran across my mind as I was drifting off to sleep was to buy hampers!   Not the regular kind of hamper but the type you see in many stores these days, the fabric kind that is round with a circular wire ‘spring’ that lets it pop up to form a tall canister of sorts.   I have one I use in my bedroom for dirty clothes.   Why not buy 4 or 5 of these and see if I can contain my stash!   With luck I can put all my worsted in one, fingering in another, aran in a 3rd and well….I’m willing to try it to see how it works.   I’m also more determined than ever to knit from my stash.   Yesterday I had ‘startitis’ and started a new project I’d been thinking about for a few months.   I dove right into the stash and found several options.   That really felt good to know that I had choices and did not have to go buy anything.  

I finished a scarf I started last February.   I call it the Koigu Garter Scarf.   I saw it knitted up at Kirkwood Knittery in St. Louis when we were there.   I bought the yarn and the pattern but have lost it so I can’t give the correct name nor the correct credit.   I blocked it yesterday and took these pictures today.   I love it! 

My reluctant model....Lexi

Lexi is such a good sport.   She really doesn’t like it but she doesn’t run away so she puts up with me.  🙂

I used a semi solid skein of Koigu along with a coordinating variegated skein of Koigu.   It is knitted lengthwise.  I think it turned out great. 

Another forgotten project I unearthed while sorting my stash is a stocking cap I started last January.   Details are on my Ravelry project page.   The second I picked it up I knew I was not frogging it.   I love the feel of that fabric and the colors.  

I am not far from finished.   I’m in the decrease section so I plan to finish it soon.  

Funny thing about being snowed in, the stir crazy has left and now I think I could get used to this.   🙂   Until the utilities get cut off and the groceries run out….then I’d be thinking differently.    lol

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    CurliSu Says:

    I enjoyed your creative thought process; since I need to find a system that works for me, I’d like to know how this works out for you!

  2. 2
    Chris Says:

    Love the colors in that scarf! The hat is going to be very nice too. Good luck with getting out today.

  3. The scarf turned out great! I’m glad you’re happy with it. The pattern is called Koigu Dropped Stitch Scarf, and it was written by shop co-owner Susie Kinsella.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

