Happy New Year…..

One week after the fact….oh well….better late than never, right?

My first finished object of 2010 is…….The Merci Scarf!

Details in Ravelry.   Easy knit, love the yarn.   This is a thick-ish type scarf but sure to keep warm.

Our family finally celebrated our Christmas yesterday, yes the 9th.  Those of you here in Oklahoma know the blizzard we had on Christmas Eve.   I could not get out of my driveway let alone the neighborhood.   That nice long 4 day weekend kept me snowed in until late Sunday afternoon.   No Christmas that weekend.   So we thought we’d do it the next and my mother’s road is a rural country road and she told me it was difficult to travel.   Honestly, I thought she was exaggerating but then read that Tulsa schools were closed the 4th because of the back roads and she was vindicated.  🙂   Anyway, our family decided to draw names this year.   I am hesitant to say ‘draw’ because the names were assigned but….Michael got my name.   His aunt knows about my wishlist on Amazon and this is what I got:

I have to say these were not the books marked with higest priority but The Seven Things book looks like a great learning tool especially for those who are doing TKGA.   It not only has tips, the pictures are in color and there are patterns!   I’m always wanting to learn more about how to get my stitches to behave properly so this looks like a book that will definitely do the trick. 

The rest of this post is non-knitting related.   Since 2003 or 2004 I have been plagued with nummular eczema.   It first appeared on the tops of my hands.   I had one patch get so large I was wearing a large bandage to cover it when I’d go workout.   It was very embarrassing and no matter what ointment I put on it would not go away.   I finally went to a dermatologist.   He diagnosed nummular eczema and had me go to a compounding pharmacist who told me this doctor was a wizard and I’d be healed in no time.   Not true.  His compound did make the large patches go away but one week later I was covered in patches of contact dermatitis.   Back to the dermatologist and he asked me what I was so stressed about.   The eczema!! And now the contact dermatitis.   He put me on prednisone.  That seemed to do the trick but as soon as I started dosing down the dermatitis came right back.   Once again I went to the dermatologist and I asked him could this be something I’m eating?   He said nooooooooo slowly but then said let me give you the list of foods people with psoriasis need to avoid.  Wow.   I was eating everything on the list except for rhubarb!   So I started eliminating those foods one by one.   When I stopped eating eggs that seemed to make a huge difference.   Then one night I woke up in an itching frenzy and I felt like I was laying in a bed of itchiness.   At the time I had an eggcrate mattress on the bed.   When I removed it the itchiness seemed to ease.   That made me think I was allergic to latex.   So I put a plastic cover on the mattress and that really helped.   The dermatitis went away and for all these years I’ve suffered with bouts of cracked knuckles eaten up with eczema.   It did go away for about 3 months awhile back.   I was amazed because I did not know what I’d eliminated that had been the culprit.   Last fall when on a trip to St. Louis/Kansas City the eczema came back and attacked my pinky fingers, spots that had not been affected so far.   Something I ate at a KC bbq place kicked it back into full attack.   I broke out on my knuckles and spots on my hands not previously affected.   I broke out on the sides of my thighs, my backside and the sides of my torso.   Bright red crusty spots that itch.   I had some ideas of what maybe I’d taken that caused it but nothing specific.   So everything was healing and fading somewhat when this past week I had eaten some Cream of Wheat for breakfast with a spoonful of Splenda brown sugar.   It was like I had poured alcohol on those spots and the intense burn/itch was on.   Since I knew what I’d eaten I decided to look up Spenda allergies.   Well, nothing specifically addresses what I have except for the mention of skin rash.   I wouldn’t call what I have a simple rash.   Or is it?    That was Thursday morning.  I have not used any Splenda since.  I had to take a prescription antihistimine that night but since then I have not had those intense itchy periods.   The splotches on my hands are no longer itching nor are they inflamed.   Could I be on to something?  I use Splenda almost daily.   I use it in my iced tea and I drink that nearly every day.  I only use it on hot cereal and I eat that mostly in the winter.  The year that I first broke out I was using Splenda in my hot tea every morning.   Could it be that heat makes the reaction stronger?  I read some of the other reactions and those were not good.   My mother used it in coffee and kept getting very nauseous immediately after and stopped using it.   If anyone else  has had some negative reactions to Splenda, I’d love to hear from you.

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Chris Says:

    I tend to stay away from all artificial sweeteners. I also use only real butter. I prefer to use the stuff people say isn’t “good” for you over the stuff that I have NO clue what is in it. When I heard a story about how oleo spreads don’t really melt when left out because of the ingredients, I decided it wasn’t for me. I just use real stuff in moderation.

    I hope you get a finger on what is causing your problems. Our Eldest has issues with extremely dry skin, but usually only in winter. I might want to check her diet.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

