Archive for February 14th, 2010

Happy Valentine’s Day Or Single Awareness Day…..

February 14, 2010

I was shocked this morning to see the weather gal showing some place that was receiving some pretty good snow….then it clicked…this is a LOCAL station and I got up to look out the window.   Snow, again!   It didn’t last very long but now all the grass is covered in a blanket of white.  

This week I finished the Marsan Watch Cap for my son.   It was an easy knit but I have to wonder if I’ll ever knit a knit stitch the correct way again.   lol   Why?   The watch cap is knitted in a twisted rib stitch.   All the knit stitches are knitted through the back loop.   I’m also knitting a neck gaiter to match in the same pattern.  

As you can see the neck gaiter is only a couple of inches along.   I think it will be nice and toasty warm though.  

There were no yarn acquisitions this week.   Yay!   I did however, get two new knitting books,  Norwegian Handknits and Mostly Mittens.   I also picked up another pop up hamper for the yarn stash.  I’m hoping that will be enough to contain the stash. 

Today is the perfect soup day.   I’m trying a new recipe:  Cabbage Roll Soup.   It smells pretty good…..a whole head of cabbage, 1 bl of ground beef, one onion, some garlic, Worchestershire, white vinegar, diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, brown rice …..and some Allspice….

Here’s hoping you have a Valentine to curl up with (two legged or four legged variety whichever you prefer) and lots of knitting to keep you happy!

