The deal…..

This is how it went down.   It was a bright, sunny but chilly Saturday morning.   The drop spot:  an empty concrete parking lot.   I had circled by earlier but did a run through downtown and came back.   I parked in a side lot, easier to get in and out.   It was 10:04, surely the store was open.   There was a gray car parked in the formerly empty lot.   I noticed there were two occupants in the car.   I got out to go check the store door.   The gray car’s door opens and a voice calls out,  “Come sit in the back seat.”   I know these gals.   I try to tell them the store is open but I get a hand gesture rushing me over to the car.   I slip into the back seat.   Manna!!   Two bags of the beloved, elusive and hard to get Wollmeise Yarn!!!  And it is for sale.    (Can you sense the drool sliding down my chin?)   This is what I scored:

The pictures were taken on a bright sunny table at the Norman Panera.   It washed out the variegated skein.   The yellow is a lovely cantelope yellow, soft with a drop of orange.   The other is a gorgeous skein filled with plummy goodness.   I am DELIGHTED beyond relief that I was able to score these two skeins of yarn.   I also want to thank Kathy of KC and Ellen of OKC for enabling us so nicely!   lol 

Poor Marjie missed out on the box of yarn a week ago and the Wollmeise deal also.   She really sounded so pathetic yesterday (froggy, croaky sick) that I scored a skein of Wollmeise for her also.   

Today I did a bit of spring cleaning.   I pulled clothes from the closet that I’ll never wear, old purses, and various books, gadgets that are sitting around cluttering things up and took them to Goodwill.   I had enough to fill my car trunk and the floorboard and front seat, passenger side.   It feels good to get rid of extra stuff!  

Still haven’t gotten the dryer fixed.   I think that is what prompted me to gather for Goodwill, I had some bags in the laundry room already filled.   So I just gathered some more from the closets and made a run.  

On the knitting front:  I’ve been working on Multnomah.   I skipped a row or added one a second time and spent most of yesterday tinking back.   Ugh.   I’m glad I love the yarn I’m using, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in the Gold Hill colorway, because it is so pretty it keeps me from throwing it down in frustration.  

I see some interesting sights from my 2nd story view on Main Street.   I know this isn’t a very good picture but I saw this vehicle on Friday:

There is some ‘small building’ like fixture in the bed of the pickup.   It had OSU Cowboys and Dodger memorabilia on it.   Every surface of that pickup had bumper stickers or poster-like signs all over it.   And every item was mentioning a sports team.   There were baseball helmets on the hood.  Literally.   About 4 if I remember right.   Can you imagine driving a vehicle like that?   Not me.   lol  

I haven’t taken any pictures of Charlie in awhile.   I caught him ‘napping’ in the leaves of this silk plant the other day. 

And Miss Lexi is doing fine.   She’s taking a nap right now.   About 20 minutes ago I heard this ‘sucking’ noise and looked at her.   She was curled up, nose covered with paws…..sucking like she was nursing!   lol   And she was sound asleep.   Bless her little kitty heart.  

This is spring break week and I know many are off on destinations.   Me, I’ll be right here….working.   Hope you have lots of knitting time this week!

3 Comments »

  1. 1
    Carolyn Says:

    Sounds like you had a REALLY good Saturday…lol! What fun, what fun!

  2. 2
    Marjie Says:

    Thanks for the score!! Still stuffy and sniffy, but I think I’ll live.

  3. 3
    Vanessa Says:

    Oh….I love the description of the ‘meet up’. Where was I? How could I have possibly forgotten? It sounds like everyone had a great time! I’m in KC and today I’m hitting a yarn shop, a bead shop and a quilt shop…all three in Lee’s Summit I believe (my stash of shopping map is in the car). I’ll call you if I run into anything totally cool and out of the ordinary!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

