Marjie’s Mission Falls Hola Blankie!!!!

100_15092.jpg

100_1507.jpg

100_15061.jpg

100_1508.jpg

Isn’t this gorgeous? This is Marjie’s Hola Blankie and she did a fantastic job. She’s blogless so I asked her if I could do a post on her blanket. Several of us went to Fort Worth last March and visited several yarn shops. When we walked into Yarns Ewenique the first thing we saw was a display of every color available of Mission Falls 1824 Cotton and Wool!! I can’t describe how beautiful it was to see all 30 color options. Mission Falls is known for their beautiful and colorful patterns and to find the whole colorline available! Wow!! Unfortunately for me, I was feeling the money pinch by the time we visited this shop and did not want to spend that much money to get all the colors for this blanket. Now I really regret it. Of the two shops in this area that carry Mission Falls neither of them have the necessary colors. 😦 I have about half of the colors required but will have to surf the net I guess to get the others. Oh wait. That wasn’t what this post was supposed to be about. lol Marjie jumped in and started knitting this as soon as we returned from Fort Worth. She had one “bump” in the road after getting a nice portion of the blanket completed but she repaired that nicely and since I’m not telling the exact “bump” you’ll never be able to tell. Another problem was the pattern was not written correctly for the chevron two color section. Marjie put pen to paper and figured out how it should be and viola! it worked. Now the website has the errata for that section. Anyway, she did a beautiful job and it looks fantastic. So it’s on my list of things to do someday.

I seem to be in a knit it- frog it cycle. I started a baby blanket for a coworker who is due in January. Plenty of time to get the blanket done IF I could make headway. I think I’ve started that blanket over at least 6 times now. I stuffed it in the bag and haven’t looked at it in several days now. I’m using Classic Elite Provence in the softest buttercup yellow. I was going to knit the tilted blocks pattern from Barbara Walker but I am not having much success. Last night I came up with another idea and I think I will knit a stockinette blanket and pickup stitches around the edges and put some nice lacy edging around it. It’s a good thing I have Barbara Walker’s first two books! I’ve thumbed through them before but I am still amazed at what I see each time I pick one up again.

Lexi says it’s nap time.

img_06742.jpg

8 Comments »

  1. 1
    Shelly Says:

    I love the blanket that Marjie made! Makes me want to make one, too.

    Lexi is such a sweetie and looking like she is wanting to enjoy some more beauty sleep. : )

  2. The blanket is gorgous! Hope you can find the yarn you need.

    Susan

  3. 3
    Nancy Says:

    Ever thought about. . .uh. . .ordering the yarn you need?????

  4. 4
    Carolyn Says:

    Oh wow!! I LOVE that blanket….I want it, I want it! And here I am trying to be good and not buy yarn right now with Christmas around the corner!! Probably a good thing all the colors aren’t available around here…lol!

  5. What a gorgeous blanket! Covet, covet.

  6. 6
    Emily Says:

    Wow! That blanket is gorgeous. And the yarn and the pattern are from Yarns Ewenique?? How did I miss that, I wonder?? Probably better for my wallet that I did, but it is truly lovely.

    As is Lexi. 😉

  7. 7
    Pat Says:

    Everything Marji knits is beautiful! I happened to pick up this pattern at Gourmet Yarn yesterday, at Nancy’s suggestion, so to see it on your blog last night was indeed karma. Marji must bring it to the shop for all of us to see!

  8. 8
    Sunny Says:

    What is the skill level of this blanket?


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a comment